You’d Probably reach more if you stopped being so fake

5 Jul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>Image: <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

My life is so perfect – I’m living out a fairy tale.  My kids are amazing – they never throw tantrums.  I have the best hubby in the world – we never fight.

Ever heard any of these?  I often wonder about people who seemingly never have any issues in their lives.  I read a blog last night that said that those types have “selective memory!”lol…

While I’m all about being positive, I also think it’s important to be real.

If people think you have this always perfect life, they won’t be able to relate to you.  They’ll think they’re not good enough to be a “perfect Christian” like you.  They’ll turn away from God because they’ll think something is wrong with them, otherwise; their life would be perfect like yours.

We do people a disservice when we put up a front like we have it all together 24/7.  No one does.  Yes, we need to maintain privacy sometimes and keep a united front.  But there are also times when we need to take the walls down and be transparent.

I’ll start today.  I am not perfect.  But I’ll bet you already knew that.  🙂

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

11 Responses to “You’d Probably reach more if you stopped being so fake”

  1. A Little R & R July 8, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    So true!!! I agree with everything you wrote here. Reading posts like that (what you opened with) is frustrating and only makes you want to choke the writer (which does nothing to spread warm fuzzies around – now does it? haha!) Great article. Blessings from Zagreb. A Little R & R (www.littlerandr.org)

    • lholmes79 July 8, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      Thanks! I also feel the same way – I know that everyone has issues, and I love it when people are open and honest, (within reason.) 🙂 When we are open and honest about the fact that we’re not perfect, it makes us more human, and people can relate to us. Be blessed! Gonna visit your blog shortly. 🙂

  2. Tresta July 9, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    This is similar to what was on my mind this morning. Often, people will draw their own conclusions though, and I think that as women we are prone to think everybody else has it all together…not so!

    • lholmes79 July 9, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      So true – I offten assume that all my friends “have it all together” and that I’m just the crazy, frazzled one, but I have to remind myself that that’s probably not the case. 🙂 Although I can learn a lot from them, I have to remind myself that none of them are perfect, and neither am I! Thanks for commenting!

  3. mommasylvia July 9, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    You are so right! So many Christians believe that a Christian should not ever get sick, have problems, or even suffer, but the Bible says that we will experience troubles and suffering just like Jesus did!! (As much as I would like to be wonderful hunky dory all the time, it just isn’t.) love your honesty and “realness” ! We are soul sisters!!

    • lholmes79 July 10, 2012 at 1:51 am #

      Yes, I have always been very honest, so I like when others are too. 🙂 Jesus also was real and honest, so I want to be the same way. Plus I find that more people can relate when you’re “real.” 🙂 Thanks for commenting sister! 🙂

  4. Beth July 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Yeah, you’re saying what a lot of us are thinking when we visit bloggers who put up the perfect facade. Thanks so much for encouraging authenticity!

    • lholmes79 July 18, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

      Thanks Beth – I have felt that way so many times, so I try to be as “real” as I can. 🙂 Your website has intrigued me – I’ll be visiting soon! Blessings!

  5. Kathy July 19, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Wow…great post. I so needed to hear this and I’m sure I’m not the only one. Thanks for your authenticity and for linking up to Titus 2 Tuesday. Hope to see you again this week!

    Kathy

    • lholmes79 July 19, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      Thanks Kathy – I’ll be back! You should head over to Loving Life Wednesdays link up – I’m giving away a free $25 Wal-Mart gift card if you comment on the last few posts. 🙂 Keep spreading God’s love! Blessings! Lauren

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Titus 2 Tuesday--Linky Party #11 - Cornerstone Confessions - February 13, 2014

    […] Are You Fake? on Loving Life […]

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!