When I make $100,000/year, then I’ll be happy…

27 Dec

 

This morning as I was reading the Bible, I came across the verse Mark 10:28, which says: “Peter said to him, “We have left everything to follow you!”  Wow!  These men were willing to leave behind their houses, their jobs, their friends, their saunas, and their families to follow Jesus.  They were willing to give it all up for a higher purpose.  I know that I love my hot showers, (and hot tubs in general for that matter!!,)  my fridge that’s stocked with all my favorite foods, my internet, and my cell phone.  While I know that I don’t need these things, I do enjoy having them.

While God may not be asking us to leave our children, families, jobs, and homes behind, He does ask for our hearts and our wills.  Ever heard the saying, “Want to hear God laugh?  …Tell Him your plans.”  In other words, life rarlely works out how we plan it, and even though it’s good to make plans and have goals, God determines the final outcome in the end, (so we might as well save ourselves some time and consult him in prayer before making decisions.)  Proverbs 16:9 says “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.”

So instead of having a heart attack when things turn out badly, realize that it could be much worse.  Chances are, if you’re reading this right now, you’re not homeless, you can afford to buy books or internet, and you aren’t working 24 hours days, (otherwise you wouldn’t be reading this for pleasure.)  …(I know thatsome of you still manage to sneak in reading and Facebook time while at work, though!!)

All of those things are enough to give God some praise, even if things aren’t perfect.  And guess what?  …Hate to break it to you, but your life never will be perfect.  Even though we can be at peace with our situation, it’s human nature to always want more, and to always be striving for more.  Maybe you want to move out of your apartment and finally be a homeowner.  You get  a raise at work, and can now afford a downpayment on a beautiful new home.  Well, after a year or so, you may begin to notice that some of your friends have homes that are bigger and nicer than yours, and you feel that itching again that you’re not good enough…  Realize that no matter what you accomplish or achieve, someone will always have more than you.

Instead of being a grouch about it and being angry at God for not blessing you more, be grateful for what you do have, and have a good attitude!  I would rather be around a happy person who lives in an apartment than a depressed person who lives in a mansion, (and I know plently of these too,) so don’t believe the lie that money buys happiness!!   (I won’t lie though…while it is fun to make a lot of money, it doesn’t mean that life won’t throw you curve balls every now and then in the midst of your wealth.)

And if you’re not happy about your life and where you are, instead of spending all day on Facebook complaining and trying to make people feel sorry for you and your situation, why not do something about it?  Maybe you’re not making $80 an hour like you wish you were, but Wendy’s is always hiring!  Maybe you say, “I’ll never work fast food…”  Please don’t make God humble you…I love to tell people the story of how I said the same words, except for, “I have a B.A…I’ll never work in fast food…”  And guess what I was saying a week later??  “Welcome to Sonic; how may I help you?”

In that situation, God had to break my pride.  Does he need to break yours as well?  I’ve learned that no matter how “smart” or “educated” you think you are, if you need money bad enough, you’ll work at the grocery store, or at Taco Bell, or wherever else is hiring.  And if you are an adult and have bills, responsibilites, rent, and kids to feed, you will lose your pride pretty quickly and go make money for your family, even if it means working in a daycare when the plan was to be a teacher, (which has also happened to me as well!)

Interestingly enough, some people still think that certain jobs are beneath them, and would rather be broke than to work as a janitor or a trashman…(but believe it or not, some of them make more than some white collar workers!)  Even some “unglamourous” jobs such as plumbers can make over $100,000/year.  But back to the sense of “entitlement”…even if you do have a degree or two, or 20 years of managerial experience, does that mean that you are entitled to great jobs, a humongous house, and everything that your heart desires, (just because you know the Lord?)  You might have all those things, but keep in mind that you also might not…and it doesn’t mean that God loves you any less than the next person…   So why do some people have while others “have not?”  I still don’t know…but what I do know is that it makes more sense just to be happy with your lot in life and to enjoy what you do have than to spend all day stressing over it.  (Read Ecclesiastes Chapter 2 for more on this!)

And further, instead of hating on those who have more than you, why not just work harder, keep striving, and get some additional job skills and certifications?  Hard work may not make you a millionaire, but it definitely won’t hurt!  If you’re tired of working and making minimum wage, then go back to school, or just work full time if need be.  It may not sound like a lot to you, but making $300 a week at Mcdonalds, (in my book,) is a lot better than sitting around complaining that you’re broke, when there are jobs that you could do…you just might think that you’re above them

So, learn to give thanks even when it doesn’t make sense.  Let go of the sense of  “entitlement” that you may feel…the mere fact that Jesus died on the cross to save us from hell is blessing enough…please don’t demand that He “give you more” in order for you to serve Him…  Serve Him just because He’s God, and not because of what you think He’ll bless you with if you live right.  Learn to stop complaining and to start “doing!”

Again, if you don’t like your circumstances, then stop talking about what you “wish” would happen, and instead, take the steps to get where you want to be.  Learn to be happy regardless of your circumstances – what if your life’s circumstances don’t change one bit in the next ten years?  Will you spend the next ten years of your life moping around?  If anything, your negative attitude will probably make people not want to be around you, and then you lower your chances of promotion even more because now everyone’s avoiding you and your nasty attitude!

Along those same lines, think about those people who you talk to for not even ten minutes, and after the conversation, you feel drained because of all of the complaining that they did.  It is almost as if they transferred their burdens to you in that short period of time…  Please…don’t be that person!  …And along the same lines, refuse to allow people to “dump” their problems on you…sure, listening to your friend’s problems is fine, but if they are not willing to take steps to make things better, then they need to stop complaining.  Overall, be a positive influence, and someone that people enjoy being around.  Show others that Christians show Christ’s love and joy regardless of circumstances, and whether or not we get everything that we want.

Don’t be like the little kid who cries in Wal-Mart when Mommy won’t buy them the candy.  If God hasn’t blessed you with that $100,000/year paying job that you want yet, give Him praise anyway.  Again, He’s probably just waiting for you to learn to love Him and to be happy anyhow before He gives it to you.  And remember that His timetable is not our timetable.  You may not live comfortably until you’re 45, or maybe, you live comfortably now, and you’re only 25.

There may not always be easy answer, but no matter what, Praise Him anyhow!!!

***Look out for my book in a few mos. if you like my blog  🙂

11 Responses to “When I make $100,000/year, then I’ll be happy…”

  1. Toni December 27, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I love this and looking forward to your book. Thanks for the words of wisdom!!

  2. lholmes79 December 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Thanks Toni; I appreciate your kind words! 🙂

  3. JC and Lillian Batla December 27, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    Praise the Lord! WE can all be thankful for just Him Creating us in HIS image. What promise. His Truth needs no Defense. Amen!
    In His love and ours,
    jc and lillian batla

  4. Sylvania December 27, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I made the six figures and got to travel throughout the US and Europe and I thank God for that Blessing. But my husband and doggies spent half of their time waiting for me to come home.

    The most beautiful thing that I have ever done was to grow God’s perfect rose this summer that smelled much better than any perfume that one could ever buy. I am very thankful that I was healthy enough to stop, grow and smell God’s perfect roses.

    Unfortunately many people want the riches but don’t want to do what it takes to get there and don’t want to give back.

    Your column is very inspiring and enjoyable. Thank you

  5. lholmes79 December 27, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    JC and Lillian, you are absolutely right…He did enough just by dying on the cross! 🙂

    Sylvania, that is so true about how some forget to give back once they get the blessing…good point! And your roses sound beautiful!

    Blessings to you all!

  6. ctademy December 28, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Wow! a book? Let me know! LOL!

  7. lholmes79 December 28, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Yep, it should be done within the next few months..I will let you know when! 🙂

  8. Kathy May 27, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    I’m currently reading a book on overcoming youth entitlement but you are right–feelings of undue entitlement even exists in today’s adults. It’s sad. If I were to be totally honest even I would say that sometimes I have the attitude of entitlement? Why? I mean who ever led me to believe that I’m entitled to this or that? It’s most certainly not what God teaches. Thanks for the reminder. I would love to have you link this up to Titus 2 Tuesday next week on Cornerstone Confessions.

    Hopping over from Women Living Well.

    Kathy

    • lholmes79 May 27, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      Yes, you are so right. I also have to fight these feelings of entitlement all day! Sponsoring orphans through Compassion International has helped me with this too. We truly have so much to be thankful for. 🙂 I would love to link up Tues, thanks!

  9. weight loss tips July 4, 2013 at 5:28 am #

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is
    simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

    • lholmes79 July 4, 2013 at 10:10 am #

      Thanks Christie! Feel free to share! Blessings 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

