Why my Hubby Rocks…

6 Jan

If you have been married for long, (or maybe short,) 😉  you realize that the person that you fell in love with may not be perfect, but they are the perfect one for you.  Even through all the difficulties and little fights that you may get into every now and then, you can’t imagine your life without them.  You miss them when they’re gone, you flirt around the house, and you absolutely love spending time with them.  Why do you love your significant other?  What is it about them that makes them the perfect one for you?  I would encourage you to write a list of why you fell in love with your partner, why you’re (hopefully!) still in love with them, and why they rock!!!  When you’re done, share it with them or post it as a note for the world to see.  They might blush, but at least they will know how much you love them… 🙂

Why My Hubby Rocks…

1. He understands my goofy sense of humor and doesn’t think I’m crazy when I do interpretive dance around the house ;p

2. He loves to watch my favorite action movies and silly movies with me, like the “Bourne Series” and “Dumb and Dumber”

3. He listens to me talk…and if you know me, I’m a talker

4. He is an awesome father to my son Gabriel, and he is wonderful with kids…when I married him, I knew that he would make a great father, and he has proven me right!

5. He can actually relate to my feelings, and doesn’t just pretend to listen to me so I’ll shut up ;p

6. He has a great work ethic and pays the bills!

7. He has amazing blue eyes the color of the ocean..sometimes they are a really pretty green color too depending on the day!

8. He doesn’t just get along with one “race” or “type” of person…he can get along with almost anyone, which is good b/c I like to hang around different types of people too.  He may be from a small town but he is the most open-minded person you’ll ever meet, and always considers every perspective when making a decision.  …(Sometimes this makes me mad b/c I want him to automatically get “mad” at everyone and everything that bugs me, but he’s always fair!haha..)

9. I can be bold, loud, blunt, and aggressive, and he tends to be more quiet and introspective.  This balances me out…without him, I’d probably still be bouncing off the walls.  ;p

10. He believes in my dreams and encourages me to do what makes me happy, (and not what I think everyone else expects of me or what will make lots of money even if I’m not happy.)

11. He has big feet!haha ;p

12. He is also a creative person like me – it’s nice to have another artsy soul in the house…we always joke that our kids will end up being our opposite…math/science nerds who are really into computers and engineering..haha

13. He is hard-headed like me, which is bad b/c we’re both stubborn, but it’s also good b/c he stands up for what is right no matter what anyone else thinks…

14. During a time where some people are ashamed of their faith, don’t know what they believe, or don’t have the balls to stand up for what they believe, he unashamedly loves God and isn’t afraid who knows…He also is not one of those “judgemental Christians” either…He knows how to love people into the kingdom of God, not scare them in.

15. He is the sweetest person ever!!!

After you read this list, you might think that we are the perfect couple…but let me be the first to tell you there is no such thing as perfection.  We are two different people with sometimes very different opinions, and yes, sometimes we disagree as all married couples do.  But instead of yelling at each other, we try to listen, take five minutes, and hear each other’s perspectives.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.  But at the end of the day, we have to forgive, and sometimes agree to disagree.  Living in a house with a person that you’re mad at just makes life unbearable.  It’s so much easier to forgive, talk it out, and let it go!

So let me ask you the same question – Why does your spouse rock????

Of course I have to plug my book…it’s all done but I’m in the process of editing and peer-reviewing, but it should be done and ready for purchase in the Spring! 🙂

2 Responses to “Why my Hubby Rocks…”

  1. Sylvania January 7, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Thank you for reminding me how great the “Love of My Life” is and has been my wind beneath my wings. We may not be perfect, but we are perfect for each other and I thank God for him.

    It sounds like your Hubby is just perfect too.

    • lholmes79 January 7, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      You are welcome! I am glad that you are still finding the beauty and goodness in your relationship with your husband – it’s all too easy sometimes to focus on what’s not perfect, so it’s important to remember why we fell in love and are still in love with them. 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

