Five Reasons to Have Joy Today

1 Feb

Five Reasons that you can have Joy Today: (An article that I wrote for my mothers of preschoolers group, but I’m sure that you’ll be able to relate even if you aren’t a mom or don’t have a preschooler.)  🙂

 Focusing on what you do have instead of what you don’t

By: Lauren Holmes

I will be the first to admit that sometimes, (or often times,) I focus on what I don’t have instead of what I do.  I will compare myself to others and wish that I had a body like them, a nice house like them, or what appears to be a perfect family, (although deep down I know that there is no such thing as a “perfect family.”)  What I need to remember during those times is that I am fearfully and wonderfully made, and that God has great plans for me, (Psalms 139:14, Jeremiah 29:11.)  It may not look like someone else’s plan, and the timing may be different, but that’s the beauty of walking with God.  He has a unique and perfect plan for your life!

Here are five reasons to give God praise:

  1. If you are a part of MOPS, then most likely, you have a beautiful little baby.  (Or, perhaps what used to be your little bundle of joy is now a happy, energetic toddler.)  Give God praise for your little ones.  There are women who would give anything to have a baby.  Praise God that He blessed you with your children, and if you want more, give that desire to God and believe that He will see that dream deep within you come to pass.
  2. Sometimes I will wish that I could cook like Paula Deen, or that I had money to eat at expensive restaurants whenever I wanted.  During these times, what I fail to realize is that there are people out there who do not have any food at all.  On those nights when I am tired of eating leftovers or chicken for the third time that week, I have to remind myself that meat is a luxury for some people in the world.  While I’m stressing over my weight, there are people who are skinny not by choice, but due to lack of food.
  3. Growing up, I always imagined that I would work for a huge, multi-million dollar company, and that I would be the boss over hundreds of employees in a corner office.  Instead, I work part time, and I don’t have an office at all.  I am a stay at home Mommy – (part time,) and I love it!  It is funny how sometimes, what you grew up thinking you wanted wasn’t always what was best – and God knew it all along.  Or maybe your childhood dreams will come to pass, but you have to realize that God’s time table may be different from your time table.  Right now, most of us are in a season of being full time mothers.  Praise God that you have the opportunity, (although it is indeed stressful at times,) to be with your children.  You are able to be home with them to teach them about Jesus, love them, hug them and kiss them during the day.  Yes, staying home with the kids not always fun and games, but give God thanks that you don’t have to work three jobs to make ends meet.  I know women who would love to be in your shoes
  4. As I sat in a church conference recently, I sipped on my coffee, – (flavored with two creams and two sugars,) – as I watched the speaker preach on the projector.  During worship, I smiled as I saw husbands and wives holding hands, and children clapping along to the songs.  It is not like this everywhere.  Some people are meeting in underground churches, and if they are discovered, it could mean death.  They probably don’t have luxuries like coffee, muffins, a projector, and sound equipment during church.  And all too often we take these for granted, (myself included.)  Remember to thank God for the little things, and for the freedom to worship without persecution.
  5. I once met a man who was extremely negative and was always complaining and mean to everyone around him.  I later found out that he had AIDS and didn’t know how much longer he had to live.  Thank God for your health and that you are still alive!  And if you are facing health challenges, then live each day to the fullest, and thank God for the time that He’s given you thus far.  Make every day count, and love each day like it was your last!  Find joy in the little things, and remember that it is our joy that makes us strong.  Nehemiah 8:10 reminds us that “The joy of the Lord is my strength.”  Find your peace and joy in the fact that God will never leave or forsake you, (Hebrews 13:5.)  He loves you and has a plan for your life, (Jeremiah 29:11.)  Rest in that knowledge, and find joy in your everyday life!

 

 

Look out for my book.  20 more pages to go and I’m all done editing!  Should be done w/n another month or so.  🙂  I will be having a book release party too!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

