If you could kill your worst enemy and get away with, (and were guaranteed that no one would ever find out,) would you do it?

3 Feb

“Bitterness is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.”  I saw this saying on a church sign on the way to work, and although usually the “sayings” on church signs are pretty corny, this one has really gotten my attention for the past week.  It’s so true.  Often we think that by holding a grudge we hurt the other person, but really we are hurting ourselves.  Meanwhile, they are going on about their lives just fine, while we are sitting in a funk.  I am not saying that you have to trust the person if they have done something that caused you to lose your trust in them.  You should guard your heart against those who do not have your best interest in mind.  There is a difference between forgiving someone and trusting them.

Here is an example: We plan to meet up for lunch at the mall at noon, and you arrive 45 minutes late. By the time you arrive, I’ve already eaten lunch, and even though I tried to reach you, your phone was off.  The first time I’ll let it slide if you had a good excuse.  But after three times of your arriving 45 minutes late, although I forgive you, I probably won’t be planning any lunch dates with you soon.  If you can’t respect my time, I probably won’t trust you anymore to meet me up for lunch unless we are riding together.  I haven’t held a grudge, but I am protecting my time because obviously you don’t care about it.

In the same way, when someone hurts us, our natural instinct is to feel anger, and if the issue is not resolved as we feel it should be, bitterness often sets in.  I struggle with this too.  When I am nice to someone over and over, and they are still rude, it’s hard not to be bitter.  So how do we combat bitterness?  By constantly renewing our minds and trying to look at the other person as Jesus would.  Again, you don’t have to keep putting your heart out there for it to get stepped on.  But you do have to guard against that twinge of bitterness that you feel creeping in.  Easier said than done, right?  But God didn’t say that living a Christian life would always be easy, did He?  🙂  And even though it’s hard, we should be living our lives EVERY DAY to please Him, and not just when it is convenient for us.

So, just how many times do we have to forgive, you may be thinking.  You’re not the first one to wonder this.  See the scripture below:

The Parable of the Unmerciful Servant

21 Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother or sister who sins against me? Up to seven times?”

22 Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.”

Bottom line – forgive because God wants us to, and because He forgave us.  No, it’s not ever easy, (at least not for me,)  🙂  but we still have to try!

Be blessed!

 

18 more pages to go and I’m done editing the book! 🙂

2 Responses to “If you could kill your worst enemy and get away with, (and were guaranteed that no one would ever find out,) would you do it?”

  1. SylvaniaSays February 3, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    Just wanted you to know that I do enjoy your blogs, however, I have not received one since the comment I made about the “Plan B Pill” and then I got hassled by women who did not have a clue about the pill.

    I would comment on the “forgiveness” blog, but it is not worth being hassled.

    Looking forward to your book.

    • lholmes79 February 3, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      I am glad that you enjoyed it! I am not sure why you aren’t receiving them anymore if you subscribed – I’ll check the settings of my blog b/c I would love for you to get them! I went ahead and removed that comment since I don’t want to promote any sort of attacking on my page. I am sorry that she wrote that to you! I have to approve all comments now through my email, so that won’t happen anymore. Glad that you are looking forward to the book. Have a blessed day! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

