When did you lose your fire? My testimony of how I got mine back!

4 Feb

You used to love God so much.  You prayed to Him, sang songs of worship, were active in church, and knew that He had a plan for your life.  Then life happened.  People hurt you.  The chuch hurt you.  Those who you thought really cared about you let you down.  People that you thought would always be in your life messed up.  You started growing cynical and wondering if God really cared.  You started to pull back from God and church.  “If this is what I get for trying to serve God, then forget it…I might as well live like the world since nothing seems to work out.”  You stopped caring about the things of God.  You thought you’d try it your own way for a while and see how things worked out.  You just couldn’t take the letdown of serving God and then not seeing your dreams come to pass.

Can I tell you something?  I’ve been here.  I thought God had forgotten about me too and didn’t care.  I had done all the right things, (or so I thought.)  So why wasn’t my life working out?  Why wasn’t I ‘blessed’ like the next person.  I got tired of people making fun of me for being a Christian, so I decided that I’d live like the world for just a little while. I’d pretend like I’d never been to church and never known what it was like to serve God.  I would be an undercover Christian.  It was fun for a while.  Fitting in with everyone else…drinking, smoking, going to all the parties. But at the end of the night I knew I was wrong.  Eventually I’d have to change.  After all, I knew I wanted to have a family, be married, and raise my kids to love Jesus.  That would never happen if I continued pretending that I wasn’t saved just to avoid being hurt again. 

Finally I came back.  Part of it was meeting my future husband.  I thank God every day that He sent my husband when he did.  He wasn’t having any of that stupid stuff that I was involved in.  My future husband loved God 100% and wasn’t about the games.  I knew that this was the one for me, and that if I didn’t quit all the mess I was involved in, I would lose him.  I quit it all.  The getting drunk, the smoking, the partying, and all of the other secret things that I was doing.

That didn’t mean that life was perfect.  I still had issues.  I still HAVE issues. 🙂  But I know that disowning God isn’t the answer.  Life is hard regardless of if you’re saved or not.  But the difference is that when you have God, you have peace.  You know that you’re putting in the hard work for a reason.  And His timing is not ours.  He may not give you your ministry until you’re 33.  So don’t stop serving Him at 32 because you’re mad it hasn’t happened yet.  Maybe God still has some things to teach you before releasing you.  Maybe He’s still molding you into the person He wants you to be so that when you do come into your ministry, you won’t fall at the first sign of trouble.

If you’ve lost your fire, come back to God.  Rediscover Him.  He still cares.  It’s not too late.  Get back on the right track and let him use you.  Remember that God is merciful and still loves you no matter what you’ve done.  Psalm 25:4-7 tells us, “Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.  Remember, O LORD, your great mercy and love, for they are from old.  Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O LORD.”

Come back.  Put down the bottle and the drugs.  Get out of bed with that person that you’re not married to.  Don’t worry…God knows you may not change overnight.  But let Him get you started on the path to change.  Be blessed!

Here is a great song that I’ve been playing all morning and last night called “Rediscover You” by Downhere:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbLydhMo-hI&ob=av2e

 

***If you don’t see me or hear from me much this weekend, I’m still alive.  🙂  I’m just finishing editing the book!  Yay!

 

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

