Learn to Look at the Bright Side

13 Feb

It was a normal Sunday just like any other except that we didn’t make it to church because Zoe had been throwing up.  I was taking care of her, and then a few hours later, Daddy got sick, so I went to the store to buy some ginger ale, soup and fruit.  By the time I got home, I started to feel sick too.  It was horrible.  Everyone was throwing up and moaning except for my son, Gabriel.  He was the only one who was feeling good.  We decided around 8 p.m. that my dad would go with Zoe and I to the hospital since we were both so weak.  When the check-in lady told us that the amount was $300, I was for a second surprised and annoyed.  But then what came to mind was how blessed I was, even in the midst of throwing up.

My dad and I later talked about this when Zoe and I were finally being seen by the doctor.  We talked about how some people wouldn’t have been able to just drop $300 for an emergency room fee, or pay $150/person.  When I asked the intake nurse if the prices had gone up since last year, she said yes, tremendously.  She said that we were the lucky ones.  Under some people’s plans, it was $250 just for one person to be seen.  I had asked my dad what people did who couldn’t afford to pay that much.  He said that maybe they had friends who could help.  I said that if all of their friends were in the same financial place, then they may not have anyone who could help.

Then I thought about people who didn’t live near family.  Last night, neither myself or my husband were in any position to take Zoe to the hospital.  We were so weak, we could barely stand without getting dizzy.  My parents live 10 minutes away and my Dad was able to take us to the hospital, carry everything, and rock Zoe the entire time we were being seen.  He had to work in the morng and interview two candidats, but he didn’t care.  He was there for us until 1 a.m., an even waited in the car on the way home as I went to 7-11 and bough Apple Juice to mix with the Pedia Lite for Zoe.  When we got to my house, he carried everything in, and I went right to bed.  Not everyone parents who would be willing to do all that.

And as I write, I thought of even one more reason to be thankful in the midst of that situation.  I live one block away from the ER.  While some might have to drive for 45 minutes to get help, getting to the ER for me is a two minute drive.

This is not to say that I enjoyed being sick.  Not at all.  Being sick is horrible!  And to top it al off, I had a new online course that I had to prepare for before leaving for the hospital.  It is not easy to post welcome notes and updated syllabus’ after having thrown up all day.  But God got me through.  He gave me wonderful parents that live 10 minutes away who I can call on any time.

Today, I know your situation may not be perfect just like mine is not.  We still aren’t 100% feeling better, but at least we both have jobs that allow for sick days, and still pay us even if we can’t make it to work.  Even if you are feeling down in the dumps like I was, remember that you still have so much to be thanful for.  You may be wondering how I was able to see all of these blessings in the midst of my sickness – well I wasn’t always this way.  I used to just complain and get mad.  But as you get closer to God, you will notice that you can see the big picture.  As we drove home from the hospital last night at one a.m., even though I felt weak, I had an overwhelming sense of joy as I thought about my two beautiful children, my loving parents, and my husband who was at home taking care of our son.  Things will never be perfect, but we can still find little glimmers of hope even in the midst of our problems.

***The book is done, but I don’t know how much editing I’ll get done today.  🙂  I need to rest and regain my strength.  Be blessed!  🙂

3 Responses to “Learn to Look at the Bright Side”

  1. Dianne Bailey February 13, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Get well soon Lauren, Brandon, and Zoe!!

    • lholmes79 February 13, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

      Thanks ladies! We are all relaxing and feeling a little better. I just had a little salad and baked potato. Zoe has not thrown up since last night. Thanks for you thoughts and prayers. 🙂

  2. Melissa J. February 13, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear you have been sick! If you need anything, please let us know!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

