Darn it…the cop just pulled me over!!!

16 Feb

It had been a great morning.  I just left a fun playdate with the kids, (which is really just an excuse for us moms to get together, drink coffee, and chit-chat,)  😉  and I was driving home.  The day was off to such a great start.  I finished writing my daily blog before noon, two people asked if I’d lost weight, and earlier that morning, I’d just heard an on time word from two of my favorite ministers, Joyce Meyer and Kerry Shook.  And all of this before noon!

As I was driving down the road singing along to my Beckah Shae CD with the kids falling asleep in the backseat, I saw a cop behind me.  Immediately I figured he was following me, so I put my blinker on to try and get into the next lane over.  Too late.  His lights were already on, ready to stop me.  This is just what I needed to ruin a perfect day…   But something inside of me said, no, I will have a good attitude no matter what this cop says or how he acts.

As we begin to talk and I told him that I’d forgotten to put the new tags on to my car, I noticed that his hard demeanor began to soften.  He asked me to pull into the next neighborhood over and out of the street so he could get more information.  When he came back to the car the second time, he smiled and waved at Gabe, and jokingly asked if he could see my driver’s license to make sure I wasn’t wanted.  🙂  I knew that everything would be fine.  When he came back to return my driver’s license, he said to hold on, and that he had something for Gabe.  He emerged again with three bright gold stickers that said “Virginia Beach Police” on them, and I rolled down the window so Gabe could take them.  Gabe was giving the cop the meanest look, and I tried not to laugh, but luckily, Gabe smiled at the last minute.

Even though I had a good morning, I haven’t had the easiest week.  Our whole family had been sick, and now my dad, (who was nice enough to take us to the ER this past weekend,) got the same bug that we did.  This morning’s incident with the cop showed me that God won’t put more on us than we can bear.  He knows how much we can take.  And I think that God knew that after a long week, I needed a break.  He showed me through this situation that He can give us favor and mercy in any situation.  That is not to say that things are perfect, but that even in the midst of the pain, God drops little raindrops of grace to let us know that He still cares.

After the cop incident, I called my mom back to let her know that I got off with a warning.  It was then that she told me that my Uncle died.  I am still devastated because I never got to say goodbye.  This is the same Uncle that let us put hundreds of pink barettes in his hair when we were kids, and red lipstick on his lips, and he would sit in a chair on the corner and wave as cars drove by and we laughed ourselves crazy.  He was sweet, funny, and he loved us.  And now he is gone and I didn’t even get a chance lately to tell him how much I love him.

Realize that life is short.  All of the dumb stuff that we argue over doesn’t even matter in the grand scheme of things – our differences on this or that topic are so trivial when it comes to this thing called life.  Even when we serve God, we will still experience hardship and pain.  But there is always that small glimmer of hope that we have in serving Him.  We may not always understand His ways or why we suffer, but we must realize that He is still in control.  He cares so much about us and He loves us so much.  Allow God to be the Lord of your life today.  It won’t make all of your problems go away, but you will have a peace in knowing that you’re living for a higher purpose.  God loves you.  Be blessed!

Please pray that I finish editing the book by the end of Feb.  🙂

2 Responses to “Darn it…the cop just pulled me over!!!”

  1. Dianne Bailey February 16, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Uncle!! Love you!!

    • lholmes79 February 21, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      love u too, thanks! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

