Image

Five Ways to Keep the Passion Alive

20 Mar

love pic

I love, love love reading up on ways to strengthen the bond between my hubby and I.  We’re not a perfect couple, but I’m always looking for ways to build us up and keep the spark alive! 🙂  We hear so much in the media about celebrity divorces and affairs, so I figured it’s time for a little positive news!  Here are a few tips to help re-ignite that passion!

1. Stop talking about your exes.  Sure, they may laugh when you mention your past, but deep down, most people don’t want to hear about the love of their lives being with someone else.  Focus on your future with THEM! 🙂

2. Every now and then, turn off the TV’s, log off of Facebook, and spend time with them…minus the technology.  Look into their eyes and really listen to what they are saying like you did when you first met.  Don’t just pretend to listen and say “mmhmm, mmhmmm,” while really counting down until 10 p.m. when Teen Mom or the game comes on. 🙂  Be in the moment.

3. If you have kids, get a babysitter and have spend some alone time as adults.  I think Joyce Meyer once said, “people claim they can’t find a babysitter, so they can’t come to my conferences.  But if someone told you that I was giving away a million dollars, I bet you’d find a babysitter and be here.”  🙂  Swap free babysitting with another mom, or ask a trusted friend if she’d be willing to watch your kids.  So long as you don’t have Bebe’s kids, you’ll eventually find someone to oblige!lol..or just pray for a good sitter.  I’ve been doing this every year, and I have a huuuuge list of reliable, friendly, affordable people I can always call on.

4. Compliment them.  Yeah, I know, you’ve been married for 8 years and you’re comfortable enough to call them out when they stink up the bathroom!!lol…but even if you’re comfortable, don’t let it be an excuse to start talking snippy and being a smart alek.  Love is kind and gentle.  You can still joke and be funny, but lift your partner up with your words.  The world tears us down all too much…your partner should look forward to coming home, knowing that their home is a haven of positivity.

5. Have sex!!  Nuff said.  🙂  I know if I didn’t include this one, the guys would get mad at me!lol..and I bet some girls would too.  Meet their needs at home so well that they won’t even THINK of getting it anywhre else.  Look sexy at home – there are people at the office who look good…don’t make your partner look forward to going to work b/c they see well, groomed attractive people, (unlike at home.)  Dress up for your spouse and look good at home every now and then.  For God’s sake, take a shower!! 😉  Smell good.  You get the point! 🙂

I hope that these tips help you!  Let me know if you can think of any others.  I’m on page 74 of my book, and once I get to page 90, I’ll be done editing.  Pray that I knock out these last few pages by tonight. 🙂

Blessings!

2 Responses to “Five Ways to Keep the Passion Alive”

  1. Kristin Barton Cuthriell March 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Love it!!

    • lholmes79 March 20, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks – feel free to add any others that you can think of! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

