Let’s talk about sex, baby!!

26 Mar

When I was little, I used to think that people who had sex were sent to prison, and that the only one who got away with having sex was Madonna!  Now I smile when I think about these funny ideas that I used to have!  🙂  I had an interesting conversation with a friend of mine who told me that where she is from, (I’ll give you a hint – it’s in the South,) the “s” word is not discussed.  You simply do it and that’s it, but you don’t dare talk about it unless you’re around your closest girlfriends.  Recently, I talked with a friend who happened to be from the North, and she told me that it’s all her friends talked about growing up.  My friend from the South also mentioned that the younger generation seems a little more lax about it.

What I wonder is why sex isn’t talked about more in church.  Just recently, I heard a Pastor speak who said that sex should be discussed more from the pulpit.  I agree – and not just saying, “don’t do it,” but telling why.  Tell why the Bible says it should be saved for marriage.  Tell how wonderful it can be when you are with the one that you are committed to under God.  Why make it seem dirty?  It’s not! 🙂

And if even if you are a little more shy or reserved about it, realize that there’s nothing to be ashamed of at the end of the day.  After all, God created sex, so you might as well enjoy it!  No shame in that!  My mom always talked to me about every issue under the sun, so I’ve never really thought that it was that taboo of an issue.  But we’re all different.  I know that some were taught that it is a sacred thing that should be kept quiet.  But I think that sex should be a celebration! 🙂

I want to be like my mom.  I don’t want the “s” word to mean “shameful in my house.”  I want my kids to feel comfortable talking to me about ANYTHING.  Even if I try to shelter them and cancel the cable so they won’t be able to watch “Jersey Shore”, (or whatever the popular show will be at that time,) they will eventually hear about it.  So why not be open?  Why not let them know what God says about it, and be honest that it’s a good thing, but best within the committment of marriage, (which is what the Bible tells us.)  Why not let them know the stat’s on STD’s and pregnancy?  Why not be real enough so that they don’t just get their info. from their friends, but from the ones who love them most?  Friends have told me that it’s hard to be open with their teens, but I was a teen who told my mom a lot, (and maybe even more than she wanted to know,) 🙂 so I know that I can be done.

Today let’s celebrate sex!  Surprise your spouse tonight!  God created it, so I for one am going to enjoy it!!

~I’m about to edit the last 14 pages of the book, so it’ll be in production soon.  🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

