Image

Are you a “Christian Hipster?”

23 Apr

540533ey9mtrp51

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=2125

“Everything is permissible”–but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible”–but not everything is constructive.” 1 Cor 10:23.  We have all heard this verse.  But what does it really mean?

Yesterday I was talking with some friends about a humorous website that made fun of the “Christian hipster,” or those 18 to 30 something’s who are known by their Clark Kent Glasses and vintage clothing, who smoke hookah and drink trendy beers b/c they were forbidden from doing so in their Bible college days…lol, who drink insane amounts of coffee, or who are bookish intellectuals who drink fine wine while enjoying a vegan diet.  We laughed as we discussed the different kinds of hipsters, (and someone who will remain nameless even accused me of being one.)  🙂   …(apparently a sign of being a hipster is denying it!lol…)  So I will admit that I fit the bill in some ways, (namely the coffee and bookish intellectualism,) although recently I’m trading my coffee in for berry smoothies.  🙂

Here is the link below – it is hilarious!! 🙂

http://hipsterchristianity.com/about.php  “Are you a Christian Hipster?”

But as we got to talking, we got on the topic of how even though our culture and dress has changed, does that mean that as Christians, our values should change?  Many in the body of Christ have adopted the “anything goes” mantra, which many times means that we are acting like, talking like, and looking just like the world.  We are no longer set apart.  Whatever the world does, we as Christians sometimes go along with it, (regardless of whether or not it brings us closer to or further from God.)

Certainly the Christian walk is not about a bunch of rules.  But God has called us to something bigger – a lifestyle of holiness.  The word says, “be holy as I am holy.”  While I am all about self-expression, I too have to ask myself, “will doing this bring me closer to God?”  Sure – it may not be written in the Bible in black and white, but at the end of the day, is God pleased by our actions?  Do our lives bring us closer to Him?  Or have we stopped caring?  Are we merely “getting by” in our Christianity by doing the bare minimum so we’ll slip into the back door of heaven?  If so, why do things half way?

I for one want to hear God say “well done, good and faithful servant” when I get to heaven.  I don’t want God to have to think twice about letting me in.  I want to live my life to serve and please Him.  Yeah I can still have fun down here – I LOVE having fun!!!!  🙂  …and I HATE being around up-tight people who can’t laugh, smile or enjoy life. 🙂

But just because something is trendy does not mean that I need to do it.  Just because all the other Christians may think it’s OK does not make it OK.  If it’s not bringing me closer to God, (or could compromise my relationship with God,) then I’m not going to do it.  Call me a prude, but God blesses a life that is holy and set apart.  God hates compromise.  His word tells us that we should be hot or cold, and that if we’re lukewarm, He’ll spit us out.

Like the Britt Nicole song says, “I want to set the world on fire.”  🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYompTPEoXg  “Set the world on Fire,” Britt Nicole

***Book’s done – I’m going to release it in the Fall of 2012.  🙂

4 Responses to “Are you a “Christian Hipster?””

  1. Amber Thornton April 23, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    I love this!!

    • lholmes79 April 23, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂 After I wrote it, I realized it pretty much summed up the conversation we had a few nights ago!lol…

  2. TeachingWhatIsGood (@teachwhatisgood) April 25, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Excellent post! I think I’ve met some of those hipsters…but I see them as being deceived into thinking they’re living in freedom when they’ve just exchanged one type of bondage for another. I do not want anything to master me…even the idea that I have freedom to do what I want. If those freedoms do not draw me closer to Jesus, they are foolishness and empty – at least for me!

    Thanks for linking up with Women Living Well today!

    • lholmes79 April 25, 2012 at 7:14 am #

      Thanks for your comment! 🙂 I too don’t want anything to hold me back in my relationship with God no matter how trendy it may be. Like you said, freedom in Christ means following Him in EVERY way. Be blessed! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

