Raising Kids Who Love Jesus

31 May

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you all know, I’m a mom of two precious babies – my son is in his terrific two’s, and my daughter is almost a year old.  I love seeing them laugh, try to talk, and play with each other like two little bear cubs.  Sometimes, they will even have little competitions to see who can scream the loudest or laugh the hardest.  But one thing that really warms my heart is when my oldest sings praises to Jesus.  We will be in the car listening to Klove, and all of a sudden, my two year old yells, “God’s not dead he’s surely alive, He’s living on the inside, roaring like a lion!”  At that moment, all of life’s worries and concerns suddenly escape from my mind.  All I can do is smile at the fact that my son will know who Jesus is from a young age.

The Bible tells us to “train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he will not depart.”  So why do we know of so many “preacher’s kids gone wild?”  🙂  Is there a set formula for raising kids?  Is it sending them to Christian schools, and keeping them glued to the TV watching only Veggie Tales and Jesus cartoons?  Maybe…

But what really worked for me was having a mom who was always there to talk to me, and a Dad who cared.  I’ve been to private schools, public schools and Christian school, but regardless of the school I attended, parents taught me about Jesus at home.  I watched Christian cartoons like “Superbook” right along with mainstream cartoons like “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles,” but at the end of the day, it wasn’t the cartoons that kept me on the right path.  It was seeing my parents model godliness in the home, compromise with one another, and actually live a Christian life, (versus the old “do as I say, not as I do.”)

As I got older, there was never an issue too “taboo” to discuss with my mom – she was always there with a listening ear, an open mind, and godly advice.  Although our relationship has changed now that I’m a mom and wife, she’s still there to talk and listen.  She’s the kind of parent who doesn’t allow her beliefs in Jesus to cause her to be close-minded or judgmental.  And I hope to be the same way with my kids!  🙂

But I’ll admit that lately, I had become fearful that if my kids didn’t attend the perfect school, (or weren’t home schooled,) that they wouldn’t turn out all right.  But about two days ago, God showed me that He has it all worked out.  I may not make the same choices about my kids schooling as another Christian parent, but no two families are the same.  Whatever God tells me to do is what’s best for my family.  🙂  It’s not always a matter of where they go to school, the shows they watch, or the activities (or lack thereof) that they participate in.

Probably one of the most important things is the teachings and example that mom and dad model at home!

Be blessed!

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or to “like” my fan page.  The book is due out this fall!  🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

