Sometimes it’s OK to be a Little Selfish

1 Jun

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>Free images from <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

Some of you will immediately become offended at the title of this post, but just hold your horses and hear me out for a second. 🙂  Many of us do so much for others be it through volunteer work, helping out at church, making dinners, packing lunches, and/or doing housework.  The list could go on forever!

But did you know that you’d be a much happier person if you also scheduled some time just for yourself?

After all, you deserve it!

Ever been so busy that you just wanted to escape to the corner of the house for five uninterrupted moment of peace?  Me too!  But here’s a little secret that I’ve learned over time – it’s not healthy to be busy all the time – and always going, going going. 

I used to think it was cool to say, “Oh, I’m so busy!!”  …Kind of made me sound like I was really important!lol.. 🙂  But now I realize that I’m a better mom, wife, and person all around when I keep my time balanced, don’t overschedule myself, and take time out for “me” every now and then.

When I’m running around non-stop from place to place, everyone suffers.  I’m barking orders, there’s no time to cook, so we’re eating expensive and unhealthy takeout food.  Then house becomes a wreck because we’re all too tired to clean, and soon, my agitation has affected everyone else in the house, and we’re all miserable.

The word tells us to “be still and know that I am God.”  Do you take time to pray, read your word, and be with the Lord?  Do you get away from the kids every now and then for some “Mommy” or “Daddy” time alone?  It could be watching the game with friends, going to the movies, or getting a pedicure.  Realize that your kids don’t need you every second.

One mom I know was permanently connected to her kids at all times.  She thought she was being a good Mommy, but truth be told, she was sinking into depression.  And worse, when she wasn’t around her kids, they went crazy.  They didn’t know how to function without their mother catering to their every whim.  Kids have to know it’s not all about them 24/7.   It won’t kill them if you get a babysitter every now and then to get away.  In fact, you’ll probably be happier because you get some time away time to be an adult and not be forced into singing “If you’re happy and you know it” over and over.  🙂   Don’t get me wrong.  I love my kids dearly.  I just know that time away is rejuvenating for any parent, and it is good for children to know how to function without you.

If you’re like me, you enjoy helping others and doing for them.  But in the process, remember not to neglect yourself!

Be blessed!

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog and “like” my fan page!  The book is due out Fall of 2012! 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And check out one of my videos below if you’re still searching for Mr. or Mrs. Right! 🙂

https://www.youtube.com/v/7b-lUTFmnTQ?version=3&autohide=1&autoplay=1&rel=0&showinfo=0&showsearch=0

7 Responses to “Sometimes it’s OK to be a Little Selfish”

  1. rorycbyrd June 1, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    Nice! Everybody needs a little me time! Great post! Thanks for sharing.

    • lholmes79 June 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      Thanks for reading! I needed to hear it too! Be blessed!

  2. Amy Schaffner June 1, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    Love this, i needed to hear this! Thanks for linking up today!

    • lholmes79 June 1, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

      I love your blog Amy! Thanks for all the fun link-ups! And don’t forget to be a little selfish this week!haha..just kidding. 🙂

  3. Adrienne June 4, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    My name is Adrienne, and I’m a blogger at DailyPath.com. We’re currently in the process of reaching out to other blogs with the aim of expanding our readership, and of course we’d also like to build some strong relationships in the blogging community. Your site seems like a natural choice, given that you blog about topics that are also of interest to our readers, particularly your posts about finding happiness and self worth which really resonated with me because I just went through a complete life makeover when I was diagnosed with a chronic, life altering illness. I had to learn a whole new way to be happy, but I did it!
    In short, I’d love to write a guest post for you and your readers, something that would fit in well with the topics your site covers and hopefully get people talking! Here are some ideas I had:

    Good advice/ bad advice

    Pet peeves and how to overcome them

    Would I really want a superpower?

    I’d be happy to write any of those posts for your blog, and I will, of course, present you with the post ready-to-go so you can just cut and paste it in.

    Let me know what you think! I look forward to hearing from you.

    Thank you,

    -Adrienne

    • lholmes79 June 6, 2012 at 12:26 am #

      Hello Adrienne! Thanks for your interest – I visited your website and was really impressed. At this time I am not taking on any guest bloggers, but you’ll be the first that I contact once anything changes. Be blessed and keep up the amazing work with your website! 🙂

      • Adrienne June 6, 2012 at 7:49 am #

        Thanks! And I look forward to hearing from you if you change your mind. We would love to have to guest post on dailypath as well, if you’re interested. We want to build a blogger relationship with some of the most interesting writers we come across. Keep in touch!
        -Adrienne

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

