Yesterday I felt hopeless and wanted to give up

6 Jun

Image

<p>Free images from <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p&gt;

Video Version

We all have those days where we wonder if our life really matters.  In the grand scheme of things, does anyone really care about us?  Or are we just existing and not really making much difference?

Yesterday was one of those days.  I don’t know why, but I found myself having a pity party for myself.  The kids were napping, and I was sitting in the family room all alone.  All of a sudden, I felt very sad.  It seemed as if all my efforts of everything that I was trying to do just wasn’t working out.

As I was about to cry, I checked my email, and found a new message that said that I had been granted a scholarship to participate in a week long event that I had wanted to do, but really didn’t have the money to attend.  It was a convention that I knew would renew me, and I would get five days in a beautiful hotel across the country with amazing women surrounding  and uplifting me.

I had to thank God.  Not only for the scholarship so that I could attend the convention, but because He knows exactly what we need, and when we need it.  He knew that I was feeling hopeless, and that I was about to cry because I felt like nothing in my life was working out.

He also knew that I would check my email at that exact second, and the note that I’d expected the day before had been sent a day later, right at that same moment.  It was God’s way of telling me not to lose hope – that He still cared about me, and that He still loved me.  🙂

Sometimes Satan will whisper in our ears, “you’re nothing…no one cares about you..you’re better off dead…nothing that you’re trying to do will ever work out, so you might as well give up.”  I heard all of these things yesterday, and I thank God that I didn’t give into it.

When I begin to get these feelings, along with praying, the best thing that I can do is listen to uplifting music that is positive.  I have been playing this song over and over – I have even been dancing with my two year old to it. 🙂  It reminds me that God really is for me and that He does care.   I hope that this song blesses you too!  I have posted the lyrics at the bottom of this page.  Please read them and take in the message – it is so important!!

And if I’m totally honest, I can admit that I did not want to write about this.  I would much rather write about the “happy times” in my life – but I know that there are others who can relate to this and hopefully be helped by it, so I had to be honest and share.  🙂

Be blessed

***The book will be due out the fall of 2012 or maybe earlier.  If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog by clicking “follow” in the bottom right corner, or liking my fan page below. 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

You Are For Me lyrics

So faithful. So constant.
So loving and so true.
So powerful in all You do.

You fill me. You see me.
You know my every move
and You love for me to sing to You.

I know that You are for me.
I know that You are for me.
I know that You will never,
forsake me in my weaknesses

I know that You have come now,
even if to write upon my heart.
To remind me who You are.

So patient, So gracious,
So merciful and true…
So wonderful in all You do.
You know me. You see me.
You know my every move.
You love for me to sing to You

Lord, I know that You are for me.
I know that You are for me.
I know that You will never,
forsake me in my weaknesses.
I know that You have come now,
even if to write upon my heart.

6 Responses to “Yesterday I felt hopeless and wanted to give up”

  1. Sara H June 7, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    God’s timing is always so amazing. 🙂

    • lholmes79 June 7, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      Isn’t it! He knows just how much we can take. Wear it so much, but it’s true. 🙂

  2. Sandra at Thistle Cove Farm June 14, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Congratulations! Go, enjoy, refresh, renew and become more of who He wants you to become.

    • lholmes79 June 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Thanks Sandra! I am doing just that! 🙂 You be blessed! I’ll have to come visit your blog too!

  3. Donna June 22, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Congratulations. Have a wonderful and refreshing time. Circumstances in life might surprise us – but they never surprise God. Blessings.

    • lholmes79 June 23, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      Thanks Donna! I will be sure to have a great time. You’re right – God isn’t surprised by what happens in our life. I will remember that as I continue to trust Him. 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

