I am far from from perfect!

11 Jun

ImageHere is a picture of my son at his gymnastics class.  The first day, I thought he would be scared.  Boy, was I wrong!  He got on those bars and started swinging like a money.  He didn’t have the fear that only an “expert gymnast” could do it.  Mommy learned a lesson from him that day.  🙂

But if we rewind a few months, I felt like I didn’t measure up.  I felt like I wasn’t good enough.  But I want everyone to know that I am far from perfect.”  🙂  Those of you who know me are shaking your heads in agreement thinking, “I know you’re not perfect.” Well my friends know that for sure! 🙂

But often when we read blogs, we think that the author has it all together.  We see a beautiful picture of the perfect family.  Everyone is smiling, the kids appear well behaved, and she looks just beautiful.

And as you read the posts about her wonderful life, you might start to feel inadequate and wonder why you don’t measure up with the perfect family, kids, house, etc.  This happened to me once.  I was thinking about homeschooling the kids and became obsessed with watching videos on youtube on homeschooling.  (I know it sounds funny, but at the time, I thought that if I didn’t “figure it all out” within a month or so, my kids would wind up to be illiterate mute’s!!lol..)  I spent so much time reading books, watching videos on youtube, and thinking how “intelligent” all these people were because they had it all together. 🙂

I started to feel like I didn’t have any of the answers.  I should have realized that at the end of the day, I was a good mom and a good person.  There’s nothing wrong with learning from others.  But when you get so insecure that you think you constantly need to be doing it how others are doing it, then you have a problem.

Since then, I’ve started turning off the videos and spending less time reading about how other’s do it.  Sure, I still want to read and learn, but I am not consumed with it anymore.  And in the quiet time that I have now, (because I am not always trying to “learn” how to be a better mom,)  I actually have time to think my own thoughts.  I have time to spend reading the Bible, praying, and working things out in my own head.

Realize today that with God’s help, (and a little learning here and there,) you’ve got this!  🙂  You don’t always need an “expert” telling you how to be better.

Be blessed!

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

Feel free to watch my videos here:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

