Since when did “Mom” become a dirty word?

13 Jun

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Growing up, I knew that I wanted to run my own business and have a corner office.  While I do have a few business ventures in the works, my “corner office” is my family room littered with toys, stuffed animals and Goldfish crumbs.  🙂

…And I wouldn’t have it any other way!  While some women don’t want kids, some may not want careers.  Some women may want to be at home raising their kids, taking them to the park, reading to them, and going to the museum with them.  Other women might want to work part time and raise their kids part time, while other women might have the kids in full time daycare while they work.  And again, some women don’t want kids at all.

Every mother makes a different decision.  But when did it become wrong to want to stay at home and be “just a mother?” (…although all moms know that “just being a mother” is a full time job.)  🙂  Just as there’s nothing wrong with a woman choosing a career instead of marriage and kids, there’s also nothing wrong with a woman who decides that she wants to be a stay at home mom.

As women, we’ve come a long way.  Instead of bashing each other for our differences and arguing over which is better, let’s celebrate the fact that we live in a country that gives us the freedom to do whatever we choose!  God’s plan is different for every woman, and just because one woman’s plan looks different from another’s does not make it any less of a good plan! 🙂

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. 🙂

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

6 Responses to “Since when did “Mom” become a dirty word?”

  1. Brenda @Triple Braided June 13, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Lauren, being pregnant with my first baby, I am already feeling this. I wish we could just all encourage each other. I think that we need to really be so prayerful about our decisions and know so confidently that they are God’s calling so that maybe we won’t feel the need to compare.

    • lholmes79 June 13, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      Congrats on your first baby! Last time I read your blog, you weren’t prego, (or maybe I didn’t read about it!lol..) 🙂 Luckily, my group of mommy friends are very accepting. I used to think had my “mom plan” figured out till I became one, and then all the plans changed. 🙂 I was going to be a career woman whose kids were in daycare, and now I’m a work from home mom whose kids go all over the place w/my during the day. God sure does have a sense of humor! Be blessed!

  2. Sherri June 15, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    So true. I often still get asked well what do you do? Umm I am a Mom and it’s the best job for me!

    • lholmes79 June 15, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Yep! You are a mommy and that is your God-given job, so wear it with pride! 🙂 We have our kids for a short amount of time, so there’s nothing wrong with getting as much time in as we can by being home! Blessings. 🙂

  3. Theresa June 16, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    this was great. thank you for linking up. I agree so much…being a mom is the most important job…people SAY that all the time, but so few are choosing it and those that are not seem to look down on those that do.

    • lholmes79 June 16, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      That’s right Theresa! 🙂 There will always be those people who look down – I have noticed it too! But I just always focus on the good people – those who don’t like my choices don’t have to be in my life. 🙂 I will love them from afar but I’m careful not to let negative people bring me down. Be blessed! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

