Didn’t your Mama teach you not to interrupt?

14 Jun

<p>Image courtesy of <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p&gt;

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting, and the atmosphere grows increasingly tense as people interrupt and cut each other off.  No one can even get a sentence in before someone else cuts them off mid-sentence and totally changes the subject.  You are probably ready to slip out the back door of this hypothetical situation, and feeling a lot like the girl in the picture above! 🙂

Sometimes when people get too comfortable with each other, they start to lose their manners.  “We’ve known each other for years, no need for the formalities,” they might think.

But as Christians, the word tells us that our “words should be seasoned with salt,” or that we should use grace and kindness when speaking, (which I’m pretty sure doesn’t involve interrupting others and cutting them off mid-sentence.)  🙂

One rule that I have in my classroom is that no interrupting is allowed.  Reason being, your interruption tells me that you don’t care what I have to say, and that my ideas are not as important as yours  This brings down team morale and causes resentment.  Soon, you have bitterness developing b/c the class room has become a free-for-all with everyone interrupting, feelings getting hurt, and no one listening, so no one wants to talk anymore b/c it’s pointless.  “I’ll just get cut off, so why even bother,” people may start to think.

If you are active in any type of group or meeting, I would encourage you to set a rule against interrupting.  Maybe you bring a baton to the meeting, and the only person who talks is the one with the baton.  Sounds silly, but that’s the point.  It’s an unassuming way to get adults, (or kids,) to behave.  🙂

And if you have a long winded person, the group leader can gently interrupt just to keep things going.  Some people will talk for an hour straight if you let them!lol..  As a facilitator, I’ve had to “gently interrupt” many times for students who prepared a fifty slide Power Point when I only asked for five! 🙂  But when the team knows that the only time an interruption happens is when the team leader is keeping the meeting moving forward, the result is a peaceable, respectful atmosphere with people who are ready to share.   I try to create this atmosphere in all of my classrooms.

Remember to be a blessing in the way that you speak to others! 🙂

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. 🙂

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

8 Responses to “Didn’t your Mama teach you not to interrupt?”

  1. Ashley Ditto June 14, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    I am new to your blog! Hello!!! Wonderful post!

    • lholmes79 June 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ll have to check yours out too!! 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to read it!

  2. Sherri June 15, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Love it!!

    • lholmes79 June 15, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks for reading! I used to be the worst offender at this, so this post reminds me not to go back there! 🙂

  3. Theresa June 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more. respect seems to be something our society is doing away with, unfortunately.

    • lholmes79 June 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

      I hear you Theresa! 🙂 This is why when I am in charge of or have any say in a meeting or group, I always try to establish this rule. It really helps! 🙂

  4. Sarah June 20, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    OUCH! I am a terrible interrupter… I always have something to add to what people are saying. (if I know them well) If it is somebody I am getting to know I do it because I am nervous and feel I need to contribute to the conversation. It is something I am working on but not nearly hard enough. I am getting together with a new friend tonight. I will certainly be mindful of this now! Thanks!

    • lholmes79 June 21, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      I have to remind myself all of the time too! 🙂 It is so easy to interrupt, but I believe that God would want us as Christians to be good listeners. Easier said than done!haha..but worth a try!lol.. I’m going to hop over to your blog too! 🙂 Lauren

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

