God uses goofy people too!!

15 Jun

ImageHere is a picture of my son and I at his first b-day party, praising the Lord and being goofy – notice I also have cake on my face.  SN: I am also pregnant with my daughter in this pic, who is now 11 mos.  🙂

I used to think that God couldn’t use me – I am usually goofy, like to make jokes, and enjoy silly movies like Dumb and Dumber – (please don’t stop reading if you hate slapstick humor…stay with me for a second!lol…)  🙂  I figured that since my interests didn’t include being a “typical” Christian, that I wouldn’t fit in the whole “church” crowd.  I thought that I either would have to be a Pastor’s wife or a Bible study leader to be a “good” Christian.  But luckily, now I know that God uses goofy like me too.  🙂

Here are a few reasons why I thought I didn’t fit in with other Christian women:

1. I hated baking, and had no desire to help out with “bake sales” or cook meals for anyone.  I would much rather watch “Mission Impossible” any day than bake!lol.. 

2.  I don’t sew, knit, or do anything crafty.  I don’t like planting flowers or gardening.  I would rather buy my food at the grocery store, and buy trendy clothes from the thrift store. 🙂  You won’t catch me gardening on a hot day – I would rather lay out at the beach in my bathing suit, get on a boogie board, and laugh with friends.

3. I am not your “typical” girl – I don’t like to wear dresses and skirts, I like action movies, I am loud, and I generally say what’s on my mind.  I am straight to the point, (unless telling a story..lol,) and I’ve always liked hanging with the guys.

 

Here is another goofy picture of me out to lunch with a friend at the beach, posing with my crab legs – 🙂

Image

 

But now I know this:

1. God doesn’t care if I don’t like skirts, don’t want to garden, and would rather go to the movies than cook.  He cares that my heart is pure.

2. When people see God’s love and kindness in us, they probably also won’t care if we’re different than them. 

3. God is in the business of using those people that others think will never accomplish anything.

I read a quote this morning from Steve Jobs that said, “those who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are usually the ones that do.”

Remember that even if you’re goofy, non-traditional, or out of the box, God can still use you.  These days, there are plenty of “non-traditional” Christians out there.  No need to be like everyone else.  Let your unique personality shine through for Jesus, and watch Him use you. 

Be blessed! 🙂

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. 🙂

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  🙂

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

13 Responses to “God uses goofy people too!!”

  1. Tina Blankenship June 15, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Girl, I totally get you. I am the person you describe. I crochet, bake, organize meals for families in my congregation going through crisis. I love flowers, and I volunteer at the American Cancer Society and the local Cancer center.

    But I too have struggled how could God possibly use ME? I’m not spiritual enough, I’m something of a prayer wimp. I can usually quote you a scripture, but not tell you were it is…I just suspect its in there somewhere.

    I too am goofy. And I tell stories. And sometimes I can hide a serious life issue comfortably between moments of sensitivity and humor. And somehow God uses this whole package for his purpose. I don’t always know the purpose and would REALLY like to be clued in on it. But for now, I’ll keep searching for the lead.

    • lholmes79 June 15, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      That is so funny! I guess we all have times where we wonder if God can use us b/c we think we’re inadequate somehow. 🙂 But really, God has created each of us to be different in His perfect image. Although now I have changed a little – (I recently made home-made soap and use meal plans to save money,) I am still my same old goofy self!lol..once I even went to a craft nite in hopes that the crafty spirit would rub off on me..it still hasn’t!haha..but be blessed and know that God has a purpose for you, (and all of us,) and we just have to stay on that path where He has us and trust that He’s taking us to a great place. Be blessed! 🙂

  2. Grace and Grit June 15, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Goofy, quirky…..crazy sense of humor….oh, that’s the spice of life. I heard a Christian comedian call it ” the top shelf gift” that God keeps on the top shelf and only gives out to a few special people. My daughter says I have that “top shelf” gift from God and I am so glad he gave it to me to use for His glory. When my daughter was in middle school, some kids at school influenced her into the emo culture and she began cutting. Our first ‘serious but concerned ‘ parent attempts to reach her just ended up in her shutting down and withdrawing more. Many prayers went up for her and we got her Christian counseling, but I think the one thing that broke through to her was when God showed me that I could use my quirky, goofy humor to connect with her. I built a connection with her and this humor has been the bond between us ever since. She is now 18, just graduated from high school and she gives us no problems with behavior or lifestyle choices. When I see the scars from her cutting, it reminds me that sometimes people don’t need “traditional”, they need something or someone that’s able to connect at their level. Who knows who God may send your way that will connect with your goofy, loud, fun-loving personality and come to know Him. btw, thanks for visiting my site. God bless!

    • lholmes79 June 15, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

      I am glad to hear that your daughter is doing well! 🙂 Yes, many times God uses those who are outside of the box to reach the world! I like how God used your funny personality to reach your daughter – our kids are only 1 and 2, but we are very silly with them, and love to dance and just be ourselves. I can see how these traits will come in handy when they are teens! Keep letting God use you – be blessed! 🙂

  3. Sherri June 16, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    I love this post. I too often feel like I need to ‘fit’ in more. I do like to bake, garden, craft, sew and even sometimes wear skirts. However I also love to jump on my quad and go for a long muddy ride. Or go to the movies and watch a some action movie with my hubby. I love dry humor and often use it to the annoyance of my family. 🙂 However HE loves us for us. I need to remember that more. Thank you for the great post!

    • lholmes79 June 16, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Hi Sherri! Keep doing those things that you love! I am reallyl convinced that God has us in all different places to reach those in different places. You go out there on a mud ride with the hubby, and you may find people who would never set foot in a church. That just might be your mission field! 🙂

  4. The Kiser Mom June 16, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Hi Lauren, I LOVE THIS!!!! I too am goofy. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I am glad it led me to your blog. 😀 I left you a reply to your comment too. Have a HAPPY and BLESSED Day

    • lholmes79 June 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      Thanks! I am going to have to go back to your blog again! 🙂 You be blessed too. Keep being goofy. We make the world a happier place!lol..

  5. Latonya June 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I am learning this too! I am not as goofy, but I did not feel like I fitted into the “typical” crowd. It is a blessing that He meets us where we are, and uses our strengths to do His will.

    • lholmes79 June 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

      Aww glad that you’re realizing this too, that God makes us all different, and that it’s OK if we don’t fit in the typical church crowd. 🙂 Once I was in praise and worship and realized that I was meant to reach those outside the church, not neccesarily inside. I think God gave me my funny personality so that I could get along with all kinds of people, not just the typical church people, (not that there’s anything wrong with them!lol..) I love them too! Be blessed!

      • Dusty@To the Moon and Back June 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

        This is a great, honest post! While I do fit in to some of the guidelines above, deep down I’m a complete nerd. 😛 Few people get to see that side of me though because I am often scared to let the silly show! Good for you for being true to yourself!

        BTW, I LOVE your hair. 🙂 Mine used to be so curly like that, but three pregnancies/children later, it is more wavy than anything. :/

      • lholmes79 June 20, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

        Haha too funny! I am also a big nerd! I left that part out. 🙂 I would encourage you to let out your inner nerd a little bit more! 🙂 Not enough to scare people away of course!lol…but you just might find that when you’re really being yourself, you attract people who like the real you! That’s why I embrace my silliness – I usually end up finding fun-loving people who are the same way and appreciate who I am. Thanks for the compliment on my hair too..funny…I always wished my hair was wavier – I guess the grass is always greener on the other side..lol.not really. 🙂 I’ll have to visit your blog too. Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers 10 Things for Tuesday - 9/4/12 - Life, Love, and Dirty Diapers - October 14, 2015

    […] 7. God uses goofy people too!! […]

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

