21st Century Mom: Work or Stay home?

20 Jun

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>Image(s): <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

Before the kids came, I would have told you that I’d be a CEO with a corner office, and kids enrolled in the most elite daycare/school in town.

Now I’m singing a different tune, and that’s OK.  🙂   Thank God for a country that gives women the freedom to choose!

Here are a few questions that helped me reach my decision:

1. What is in the best interest of your family, kids, you and your husband?

2. As a mom, do you desire to be at home, to work, or to do a little of both? (Trust God to meet the desires of your heart.)

3. What does God want for your family?

4. What have you and your husband agreed on?

For myself, when the kids came, I worked part time, but soon began getting promotions, which meant more time at work, and less time at home.   Then came the stress and unhappiness.  I was too tired to play with the kids, too busy to hang out with friends on weekends, and too uptight to relax with the hubby.

Was another thousand dollars or so each month worth my happiness?  I made the decision to ask to work from home more, or to be given less hours.  If my request was denied, it would mean significantly less money, but that was OK with me.

Praise God that the request went through! Now I only work outside of the home 2.5 hrs per week, and I never received a pay decrease.  God is able!

I encourage you today to do what’s best for you, your family, your marriage, and your kids.   When you are doing what God has for you, peace and happiness follow!  Every woman’s path is different, and there is no “one way” to do things.

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

2 Responses to “21st Century Mom: Work or Stay home?”

  1. Rose @ Walnut Acre June 26, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Thank You for the reminder that God is looking out for us, to give us the desires of our hearts. When we are in relationship with Him he helps us to have desires that line up with His will and the life we then have is such a fulfilling one!

    • lholmes79 June 26, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      yes you’re right! 🙂 Every woman is different, so I truly believe that God will give us the desires of our heart if we ask Him, and have a heart that seeks to serve Him and bless our husbands and children! Blessings

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

