What Lord? You want me to do WHAT???

23 Jun

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>Image(s): <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

Yesterday, I witnessed something happen to another person that really shook me up.  Yes, that person is fine, but the situation really caused me to think about what really matters in life.

Ever felt like you couldn’t sleep until you had an answer for something?  That was me last night.  I tried waking up my hubby and talking to him, but he wasn’t very much help because he was half asleep.  🙂   I feel a little guilty for disturbing his sleep, but I’m thankful that I have a husband who will talk to me whenever I need help, (or attempt to talk in his sleep!lol…)

Last night, I tried sleeping, getting on Facebook, and reading the Bible, but I just couldn’t find peace about what had happened.   I realized that God wanted me to stay up until I got an answer, even if it took all night.  “But Gooood, I need my rest…I’m a professional sleeper.”

I’ll be honest.  I ignored God at first and God in bed anyway!  But as I tossed and turned, I realized that it was useless.

I went back downstairs.  I prayed and sat quietly.  I edited the book.  I listened for God’s voice.  At five a.m., it finally dawned on me.  I wasn’t being totally obedient.  God  had used that situation to shake me up and get my attention.   As of last night, I was being about 85% obedient, (I hate to admit!) 😉 By sitting around instead of doing what I knew I was supposed to, I was cancelling my own blessing.  Sometimes, we have to do our part in order for God to work in our lives.  No, God doesn’t need our help, but at times, He will require us to take action.

I on the other hand, had been sitting around eating Cheetos all day, (for lack of a better analogy.)  🙂  Sometimes, we want to get right to point “C” where the blessing is, not realizing that if we don’t take steps “A” and “B” like God has been telling us to, we’ll never GET to point “C!”

Time to get moving!  I want God to use me, so I’ve got to get off my (sometimes) lazy butt and do what He’s told me to!

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

4 Responses to “What Lord? You want me to do WHAT???”

  1. Kelly June 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Totally agree with this! You made a very good point. I don’t want to ruin my blessing by being lazy (and I totally am sometimes…)

    • lholmes79 June 28, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      Yes this is a reminder to me too! I’ve got to get moving on some projects I was sitting on. Have a great day! 🙂

  2. nancy June 28, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    i came over from women living well wednesdays, read your post then took a stroll around your blog, read a few, then stopped on this one! Yup, you got it, I was supposed to read this one! I’ve been frozen by inactivity for a while and now that my schedule precludes my doing what I should have been doing, I admit wasted time. God used you to tell me to get going! thanks! have a blessed day! N

    http://wordsfromthehomefront.blogspot.com

    • lholmes79 June 28, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      I was frozen too! Glad we’re both getting moving!lol..be blessed! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

