Mom, are you addicted to Facebook?

25 Jun

 

 

 

 

 

Today at my two year olds gym class, it was the time where the children explore the gym and parents help.  There were two children who had to explore alone because their moms were texting in the corner.

Not judging these moms, but it made me think.

When we were kids, moms weren’t constantly distracted by laptops, cellphones, texting, and ipads.  Sure, there was TV,  but generally, we got their attention when we needed it.

I fear that without realizing it, many of us are neglecting our children by only giving them half of our attention, while Facebook gets the other half.

While I love technology, I make a conscious effor to put down the laptop sometimes and give the kids all of myself.  This happened after once I went a whole day without putting the laptop down – at night when I realized what had happened, I knew that something had to change.

“But I can multi-task, you might think.”  Recent studies have shown that when we multi-task, we don’t do anything as well.

Even if you love your ipad or love to text friends, take some time to put them down, get on the floor with your kids, and play.  Maybe it’s reading a book, cuddling, or playing with their toys.  Whatever it is, let them know that you love them most.

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

4 Responses to “Mom, are you addicted to Facebook?”

  1. lovingourjourney1 June 25, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Great piece….I feel for those little kiddos…have you seen “hands free mama”?

    • lholmes79 June 25, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks! I have not seen it, but now you have peaked my curiosity! I am going to have to find it. Thanks for the comment! 🙂 I feel for them too – I’ll probably say a little prayer for them!

  2. Alicia June 25, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I think we’re on the same page today as we both post about play 🙂 I am so sad when I’m at a park w/my kids and see countless women just sitting in the corner “playing” with their screens rather than their children. Those kids will grow up all too fast. Thanks for the gracious reminder. And thanks for stopping by the overflow today, too. Blessed to meet you!

    • lholmes79 June 25, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      Yes I agree! I have to continually remind myself to put away the gadgets and play! 🙂 I loved your post – pleased to meet you too! Lauren

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

