I gave my lunch to a homeless woman

27 Jun

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>Image(s): <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

As I loaded the groceries in my trunk, a woman approached, asking if I could spare some money for gas.  I had just spent the last of my money, and did not get paid until Friday, so I apologized, and watched as she sorrowfully went on to the next person.

I thought about sinking my teeth into my Subway sandwich, and how I hadn’t had Subway in forever.  Then I looked again at the woman, still  wandering through the parking lot.  I caught her eye and motioned her over.

I gave her half of my sandwich, (I’d gotten a foot long Cold Cut Trio,) and told her about Jesus.  “I lost both my jobs, and I need all the prayer I can get,” she told me.  She said that she had a place to stay, and thanked me for the food and prayers.

She didn’t look “homeless.”  She had spiky, short, bleached blonde hair, a great tan, trendy glasses, and fairly nice clothes.  She was well-spoken and obviously intelligent, but had just come on hard times.

As I drove home, I cried.  For all those who needed gas money, food, and jobs.  Then I thanked God for what I had.

Then I went to town on that Subway sandwich!! 🙂  It was YUMM-O!!!  🙂

Today, be thankful for what you have, give to those in need, and trust God to help those who you can’t.

 

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below.  :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

8 Responses to “I gave my lunch to a homeless woman”

  1. Tanya @ Thorns and Gold June 27, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Such a cool story! I love those times when we are forced out of our head and into the world of someone else – and it makes us realise all the more how much we are blessed. thank you. (linked up via Woman living well)

    • lholmes79 June 27, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Thanks Tanya! I loved your post on Job – I can be a fighter too. Be blessed! 🙂 Gonna jump over to your site again!

  2. Gail July 10, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    God really can use situations like this in our lives, can’t He? We do Christian work in Budapest part of the year and constantly deal with requests like this. It’s always challenging to know how to respond God’s way…each case is so individual. Thanks for sharing your story. Gail (BibleLoveNotes.com)

    • lholmes79 July 10, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      That is amazing that you’re over there doing God’s work in Budapest – I love missions work!! Can’t wait to jump over to your blog and hear more about it. 🙂 Yes, God uses even situations we might think are small, such as giving away our subway and showing God’s love in the Wal-Mart parking lot. Be blessed! 😉

  3. Michelle Eichner July 16, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    So glad you listened and were obedient so you could share that with all of us! What a great reminder to be grateful for all we have. I appreciate your sharing. 🙂 Michelle

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Thanks Michelle! I love food, so it wasn’t easy to do!haha…but God wants more of us sometimes. 🙂 I hope you’ll link-up with my blog this Wed. for a chance to win a $25 gift card. Blessings!

      • Michelle Eichner July 16, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

        Oh I understand. Just yesterday our pastor said “less of me is more of God. More of me is less of God.” And then you echoed that. Thanks for the invite for Wed. I’ll link up. 🙂 Blessings to you!

      • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

        Yes, your Pastor is right. What a great message! Looking forward to reading your blog Wednesday! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

