Should Christian women see “Magic Mike?”

29 Jun

Image

<p>Image: <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

Should Christian women see “Magic Mike?”

Did I get your attention?Β  I figured I would! πŸ™‚

Before you stop reading because you’re going to see “Magic Mike” tonight and you think I’m going to bash the movie, wait – I’m not!! πŸ™‚

That’s why many are turned off from Christianity – they think it’s all about rules, hypocrisy, legalism, and a list of “do’s and don’ts.”

For me, the question is very simple.Β  Would I take Jesus with me to see “Magic Mike?”Β  Would my husband be happy if I went to see it?Β  I could care less what other “Christians” think – I will one day have to answer to God, so His opinion is all that matters to me.

For me, it has nothing to do with “rules.”Β  While there will always be some gray areas that Christians will disagree on, I think the more important questions is, where is your heart?Β  In your heart, do you truly believe that your actions are OK?Β  Do your actions line up with God’s word?Β  Would you take God with you wherever you’re going, or would you be ashamed to bring Him with you?

I hope you hear the spirit behind this post.Β  I am not here to call anyone “unsaved,” or act like I’m better.

Plus, it doesn’t matter what I think.Β  What should matter to a believer is what God thinks! πŸ™‚

Be blessed!

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or β€œlike” my fan page below.Β  :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

10 Responses to “Should Christian women see “Magic Mike?””

  1. Dana S. July 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I must REALLY be out of the loop. What’s “Magic Mike”? I just heard of “50 Shades of Gray” last week!

    • lholmes79 July 4, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      I just found a week or two ago – I was also out of the loop. πŸ™‚ It is a movie about a male stripper. I’ve also heard of 50 Shades of grey too. It’s great that Christians are tackling these topics! πŸ™‚ Be blessed! I’ll hop over to your site soon!

  2. Becca July 6, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    I love how you put it: Would I take Jesus with me to see β€œMagic Mike?” That can be applied to so many areas in our lives. Would we do ___ if Jesus was physically there with us? Thanks for sharing!

    • lholmes79 July 8, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ I always add if we’d take Jesus with us, because we can use human logic all we want to reason and make “wrong” turn into “right,” but when we add Jesus in the equation, would we really take him with us to see strippers? Hmmm… πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting – keep living for Him! I’m going to visit your blog shortly!

  3. jelli July 9, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    Thanks for this bit of perspective. Love it. I mentioned your post to the hubs, who added that it would be good to also ask readers to consider whether they’d take their own daughter to view it with them. A good point to consider, I think. I personally wouldn’t even think of going to see the movie. Temptation is not at all what I’m about.

    • lholmes79 July 10, 2012 at 1:50 am #

      I had no desire to see it either! Wow, that’s another good question, if you’d take your daughter to see it. Thanks for making me think even more! πŸ™‚

  4. Jesse July 10, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    You’re right on the money. Unfortunately, there are “Christians” who say they’d have no problem sitting next to Jesus in that movie. I understand that people have their differences on theology, but this one’s really a no-brainer. Does this bring glory to God? Does it edify? Is it profitable for you, spiritually? Could this cause you to struggle spiritually? Could this cause others around you to struggle spritually? Could this damage your credibility with your unsaved friends, family, and coworkers – who you’re trying to reach with the Gospel? The beautiful thing is that once you’re saved, you’re free to do ANYTHING YOU WANT. ANYTHING. Literally. But what you want to do has changed, if you’re truly born again.

    • lholmes79 July 10, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      Great questions! I love asking questions. πŸ™‚ I feel the exact same way – the things I used to want to do five years ago, I have no desire to to now b/c I want to please God. Yep, with God we’re always growing. Blessings! πŸ™‚

  5. Suzanne Jackson July 13, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Years ago, some male relatives went to see an R-rated action movie. Now I don’t remember what the movie or content was; I believe it earned that rating primarily for language, violence, and possibly a small bit of sexual content (implied or otherwise). On their way out of the theater, they saw their pastor a few rows back. One of the men was deeply offended and flat appalled that his pastor was in that theater watching that movie. And he wasn’t shy about voicing this to others.

    This man didn’t have any problem with the fact that he, a professing Christian, just sat through that same move. Ironic. And sad.

    • lholmes79 July 13, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      Great point! The Bible talk about not being a stumbling block, or being a bad example, and it sounds like that man didn’t realize that not only should a Pastor be an example, but he should too. Thanks for the reminder – no matter if you’re a Pastor or not, when you’re a Christian, people are watching, so we should represent Christ at all times. πŸ™‚ Be blessed!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

