Forgiving ain’t easy when they don’t apologize

12 Jul

Image

<p>Image: <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>
First of all, yes I know that the above title is not correct grammar. 🙂

But I’m sure this is a situation we’ve all been in.  Someone does you wrong.  They don’t acknowledge that they hurt you, and just go on as if everything is OK.

So what are we supposed to do as Christians?

Yes, the Bible says to forgive 70 x 7… I don’t even want to begin to do the math, but suffice it to say, that’s A LOT  of forgiving.  🙂

This just happened to me.  For the past two weeks, I was dealing with someone who was, for lack of a better word, acting trifling!!lol..  I gave them the benefit of the doubt about six times in the past two weeks, but last night was the straw that broke the camel’s back.  I was done!!

Did they apologize?  Nope.

Was I hurt by their actions?  Yes.

Realize that as Christians, although we are to forgive, we don’t have to allow ourselves to be continually done wrong.  If someone is hurting you, protect your heart, mind and emotions.  It’s OK to distance yourself from someone that does not have your best interests in mind.

Love them from afar and forgive them, but don’t keep allowing yourself to be pushed around.  You are a child of the King!

Be blessed!  🙂

***Next week I’ll be giving away a free $25 Wal-Mart gift card on my link-up here at Loving Life Wednesday’s – stop back in a week and win!! :)

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

 

4 Responses to “Forgiving ain’t easy when they don’t apologize”

  1. yalandarose July 17, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Forgiving others who haven’t apologized is one of the biggest tests of my faith. I’m not the type of person that can act as if everything is okeydokey, so i do put the verse to practice that says to confront the person of their wrong in private if i find myself stewing about it. i know eventually i will get over it regardless of whether or not i receive an apology, but as you said, there is no sense in continually putting yourself in harm’s way, just be there for them when they need you. Praying for God To Intervene with that person also tests my patience:)

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      Yalanda – you took the words right out of my mouth! 🙂 I don’t mind confronting strangers, but when it comes to friends, it is very difficult for me b/c I don’t like conflict, and then I also end up stewing too!lol…let’s keep each other lifted up that God will give us a “holy ghost” boldness to say what needs to be said in love. Thanks for commenting – it’s great to know that I’m not the only one! Be blessed and don’t forget to link your blogs tomorrow at lholmes79.wordpress.com at Loving Life Wednesdays – you’ll also be entered to win a $25 Wal-Mart gift card. 🙂 Blessings, Lauren

  2. Laurie July 22, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    This is so true! I have had to distance myself from certain family members who continually hurt me without acknowledging or apologizing. It was a very hard decision and something I struggled with especially being Christian and wanting to forgive. I think it’s good to remember that forgiving someone isn’t saying what they did was ok. It does however free you from the situation and allows you to move on.

    • lholmes79 July 22, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

      That’s right Laurie! It’s hard because we feel we should love as Christians, but sometimes we have to love from afar. We are not to be punching bags – we’re children of God! 🙂 Be blessed! Lauren

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

