Is your diet killing you?

16 Jul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>Image: <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

Confession: recently I went on vacation, and when I came back, I’d gained five pounds!  Eeeek!!

It made me want to get serious about my eating patterns.

Just this morning, a friend of mind invited me to go exercise with her because she found out she had high blood pressure and heart palpitations, and knew it was because of being overweight and eating badly.

We decided it’s time to make some big changes; here they are:

1. Stop eating fast food – bring food with us when we go out with the kids so we don’t end up at the Chick-fil-A drive through.

2. I do this one already but want to get even better – buy less processed bagged, boxed food, and cook for your own food – it’s healthier. Ex: make your own meatballs, chicken wings, etc.

3. Exercise more!  I know it’s hard, but we really have to step it up in this area!

4. Start writing down what you eat to avoid mindless snacking.

It’s not all about being skinny, swearing off eating out, or going on crazy diets.  We have to change the way we live!

Any other suggestions that have helped you? 🙂

Be blessed!  :)

***Stop back on Wednesday – I’ll be giving away a free $25 Wal-Mart gift card on my link-up here at Loving Life Wednesday’s!! :)

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/

4 Responses to “Is your diet killing you?”

  1. mommasylvia July 16, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Since I had high blood pressure (I have it under control with diet and exercise) I now try to think about what I am about to eat before I put it in my mouth. Is this good for a high blood pressure diet? I want to stay alive and healthy for my family!

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      Hey Sylvia! Good to hear from you again. 🙂 While I am no dietician, I do know that in general, eating foods that aren’t processed, (and that are made naturally,) are better for you. When foods are processed, lots of the nutrients are taken out, and chemicals are added. We are trying to eat more fruits, veggies, meat, and fish around here, and drinking more water, (although I do have my coffee every now and then.) Good for you that you want to stay healthy for your family! Be blessed!

  2. KM Logan July 18, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Lots and Lots of water. I’m in the same boat, these last 10 baby pounds are sticking like GLUE this time around!

    • lholmes79 July 18, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Glad to know someone else can relate! 🙂 Yes, I have also been trying to drink more water – my friend turned me on to “agua fresca,” which is basically water with fruits added. You just squeeze the juice of limes, lemon, oranges into water, add some berries or watermelon, and let refrigerate for two hours. Then pour over ice – I drink it every day now. 🙂 Be blessed and thanks for sharing!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

