Win a $25 Wal-Mart Gift Card

16 Jul

<p>Image: <a href=”http://www.freedigitalphotos.net&#8221; target=”_blank”>FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

So lately, I have been feeling totally overwhelmed…kids, work, you name it! πŸ™‚

I think part of the problem isn’t that I’m doing too much, but that I’m forgetting to relax!

Even when I’m sitting on the couch or hanging out with family, I always think of what else I could be doing.

That’s where I need your help! πŸ™‚

The word tells us to “be still, and know that i am God.”

I know that I need to relax more, so please leave (appropriate) suggestions in the comments section of my blog of ways to relax, or how you like to relax. πŸ™‚Β  Or, if you join the blog link-up on Wednesday, you’ll also be entered to win!

I will choose a winner at the end of the week, and announce them next Monday!

Be blessed!Β  :)

***Stop back on Wednesday – I’ll be giving away a free $25 Wal-Mart gift card on my link-up here at Loving Life Wednesday’s!! :)

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or β€œlike” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

38 Responses to “Win a $25 Wal-Mart Gift Card”

  1. Alina Ellis July 16, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    bubblebath candles a good book and some hot tea. oh and sleeping kidlets…….that sounds like it would work to me.

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Love this idea! Thanks! πŸ™‚

  2. Carley LoFaso July 16, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    This may sound weird but I like to use candles at night instead of electricity so I am more aware of the sun going down and it is nearing the end of the day. It is easier for me to unwind that way.

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Wow, I never thought of doing that. Good idea! Thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚

  3. shannan July 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    To unwind I LOVE to turn off my cell phone and computer and stretch out on the couch with a blanket and watch my favorite tv…sometimes its nice to just disconnect from everybody so you can relax and reflect on your day….woosah!

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      That sounds lovely! I need to do that more often πŸ™‚

  4. Mandy Melton July 16, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    I have a hard time relaxing as well. Even IF I do a bubble bath- the whole time I’m in there I think about what I could be doing. So usually my favorite way to relax is snuggling with my hubby. I always sigh the biggest sigh of relaxation when I’m snuggled up to him.

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      Sweet! I love snuggling with my hubby too. πŸ™‚

  5. Amber Thornton July 16, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    What I have learned about myself is that even when I am “relaxing” I am doing something, such as on the computer, etc. So I make a point to put everything down and just be. It’s liberating and so rejuvenating for me. Also I tend to be a late bee, so I give my self a bed time. Sounds silly I know, but these rules keep me from getting burned out and I find myself much more prepared for the next day and much more friendly to my kiddos. lol πŸ™‚

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      Thanks! Wow – that’s so true – so often we’re not truly “relaxing.” I’m def. going to try this one. πŸ™‚ I am a late bee too by the way!lol…

  6. rachel osborne July 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Trying to get back into working out…running a side business…and chasing my 22 month old requires some relaxation at the end of the day! My favorite way to lay some of the load down is to sit down at my computer and play the sims with my husband. I get to create and run someone elses life for once and kind of create my dream house πŸ™‚

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      Sounds fun, Rachel! I love HGTV and home-related stuff so that sounds right up my alley! Thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚ I hope you’ll link up this Wed. for another chance to win a $25 gift card!

  7. Becky Bartels July 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Ok, so I know my brain is wired differently, but at the end of the day, I like to do a Kakuro puzzle to relax. Somehow doing the numbers puzzle helps my brain to “relax” and it helps me to make sense of my world at the end of a busy day. The puzzle is logical and so to all the illogical parts of my day, the Kakuro puzzle helps me to make sense of it all.

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Oh wow Becky; I like how you think! πŸ™‚ I have never tried one of those, but now I’m curious to try it out and see how it works. Thanks for that creative idea!

  8. Elizabeth Grainger July 16, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Wow! I was just thinking of these things this weekend! AIRPLANE mode after 9PM is becoming a favorite way to unwind… Why not put the phone to bed when I am getting ready for bed? πŸ™‚ I also find that eating meals with friends during the day v. eating while working or eating fast food helps me bond with people and give an extra zap of energy. I just started *When the Soul Listens: Finding Rest and Direction in Contemplative Prayer* by Jan Johnson… I’m sure it will hit on these topics… And, last but not least, a nap is by far one of my favorite ways to take care of myself. Thanks, Lauren! πŸ™‚

    • lholmes79 July 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      Oh wow, bonding with friends and putting my phone away are such good suggestions! I always have my phone near me. Naps are always good too. Thanks for commenting, Elizabeth! πŸ™‚

  9. gingy55 July 16, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    One of my favorite ways to ‘be still and know’ ….
    is to sit at my small, round dining table with a fresh cup of hot tea, take my Bible, journal and Jesus Calling devo book and spend secial time with the Lord. A Tea Party with Jesus to start off the day. ‘*-*’

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 9:21 am #

      Wow, I need to try that. Usually I do it with a berry smoothie, but I think tea might be a nice change. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  10. Amy July 17, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    If I need to de-stress during the day, I enjoy to melt away in the pool. If I get a free night, I like to take a brisk walk on the beach at night with my good friend, fresh air & a good friend works wonders for me : )

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Wow I love the pool! πŸ™‚ I could swim all day. Thanks for commenting, Amy!

  11. Elisa July 17, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    I like to read or knit. I’m like you that I start to think what I need to do when I’m just watching TV so I like something that makes me concentrate.

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      What a good idea! Everyone knits – sounds like it’s time I learn! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  12. Dee Cason July 17, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    A LONG ride on the motorcycle….ALONE!!!

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      Wow, I love that idea! I don’t have a motorcycle but I can imagine that would be a nice way to unwind. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  13. khristie July 17, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    I enjoy a glass of wine while unwinding in the evening, after the kiddos are in bed. It helps to melt everything away.

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Khristie it is so important to relax and unwind once the kiddies are in bed – I agree! Thanks for the suggestion! πŸ™‚

  14. Taunia Schulke July 17, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Getting a pedicure….you know, the ones with the massage chairs and lower leg and foot massage? Yeah, baby!

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      Taunia I need one so bad! That is definitely relaxing! πŸ™‚

  15. Lesley July 17, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    I love to sit on my front porch and read a magazine – the best combination of fresh air and a few articles I can get through in one sitting.

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Wow, I really need to get outside more, especially b/c the kids sleep for 3 hours. Sunshine is goooood!! πŸ™‚ Thanks Lesley!

  16. laciemorris July 17, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I am trying to find little ways to treat myself, I bought some fancy nail polish and decals and have started doing my own manicures and pedicures. I also make a habit of inviting a friend for coffee and cheesecake at my favorite dessert place in town just to have some real adult girl conversation πŸ™‚

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      I love the part about coffee and Cheesecake – I really need to have a girl’s night out soon. Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

  17. Kymmie Wyatt July 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Love your blog! Can’t wait to see the book. :). We should have a playdate sometime since we live close! I don’t get to really relax completely much, I always feel like I have to have “one eye open, one ear listening”. BUT sometimes I go hide alone in my bedroom When the hubs is home and take an hour or so to paint my nails. If I am really stressed I pick out polish ahead of time and leave it sitting on the counter to remind myself to take a few minutes for just me.

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      Good one Kymmie – I need to do this more – it is so fun and relaxing. πŸ™‚ That’s why your nails always look cute!lol…yes a playdate soon! πŸ™‚

  18. Angela July 17, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Believe it or not, I find dishwashing to be relaxing! I also find baking to be a great stress-reliever. πŸ™‚

    • lholmes79 July 17, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

      Thanks for sharing Angela – sometimes I turn late night cleaning time into worship/listening to Joyce Meyer time – good idea! πŸ™‚

  19. pamelapoopendorfPamela Foster July 23, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    It is during these times that full songs, lyrics and music, background vocals and all, are “delivered” to me. When I began to listen in the stillness that He gave, thankfulness that springs forth in song overwhelms me. It even happens when I am asleep! How blessed to wake up and have to write down and/or record a song that has been given me in my sleep! (This began when I gave up attempting to write music at the age of 42!!) Amazing, wonderful Creator, to give me so much more than I ever gave up!

    • lholmes79 July 23, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      That’s amazing! I have been thinking about writing music too on the guitar – wonderful suggestion! πŸ™‚ Lauren

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

