Chick-fil-A – What Should Christians think?

27 Jul

Retrieved from: Google Images

If you haven’t heard about the Chick-fil-A scandal, I don’t know where you’ve been!lol…

First of all, I’ll start by saying that I am a Christian.  That doesn’t mean that all of my friends are.  I have friends who are Buddhist, Black, white, gay and straight, etc.

And if one of them was a business owner who spoke out that they had different beliefs than myself, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t boycott them.

When did it become wrong to have differing views?  If the McDonald’s CEO said that they were pro-choice, (and I’m pro-life,) I would never stop eating there.  If the owner of PF Chang’s said that they were an atheist, (and I’m a Christian,) best believe I would still eat there.  🙂  Even if I don’t agree, I can still respect that we have different views, and that’s OK!  …agree to disagree is how I see things.

I’m not going to call for a boycott every single time someone has a different belief than me.

No one is ever going to agree on everything.

I could care less whether or not Chick-fil-A’s CEO supports or opposes gay marriage.  That is his personal opinion, so why should that affect my buying, (or not buying his food?)

If a burger joint run by a gay CEO serves good food and treats me right, I’ll eat there.  And if a taco place run by a Christian CEO treats me well, I’ll eat there too.  And so on.  Since when do we have to agree with a CEO’s personal views to buy something?

We hear so much about tolerance for “other religions” these days, but it seems as though the tolerance ends for those who espouse a Christian worldview.

Although I’m a Christian, I can respect both sides.  If two men want to marry, that’s their business!  Who cares whether or not I agree?  And if the Chick-fil-A CEO doesn’t like it, that’s his business too.  Yes, our country is obviously split in half on this issue.  (And I have friends on both sides of the fence, whom I love and respect regardless of which side they choose.)

(…And just because someone disagrees with you does not mean that they hate you.)

So again I ask, when did a CEO having a personal opinion different from yours become wrong?

And as Christians, instead of arguing with those who disagree with us, why not just love? 🙂

Like I’ve said many times, I don’t mind talking about my faith, but I refuse to argue, debate, insult or go back and forth.  If we disagree, that’s OK – I still love you, but I will not spend time arguing.  🙂

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

16 Responses to “Chick-fil-A – What Should Christians think?”

  1. Kristina July 27, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Thank you!! I totally agree with you! I have friends who boycott every business that shows support of something that differs from their beliefs. I just don’t feel that “strong arming” businesses with the goal of hurting them financially so that they change their stand is very “Christ-like” at all. I agree…even if you disagree…show love!

    • lholmes79 July 27, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks Kristina – the word says that they will know we are Christians by our love. So even if people are being unloving and unaccepting of a Christian principle, we still have to show love. Instead of boycotting back and retaliating, the best thing we can do is keep on loving. 🙂 Blessings to you too!

  2. A Little R & R July 27, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    So true – besides, boycotting does more to hurt the innocent employees of that company than the CEO. He wont feel the boycott as much as the employees who could possibly lose their jobs because of low business. And no one ever asked what they’re political views are. I am not very much in favor of boycotting. Fact is, if we boycotted every company whose views on politics or religion differed from our own, we’d live a pretty isolated life. But then you stated it so well – today’s world is tolerant of just about anything – except Christianity and Christian moral values. Thanks for sounding out on this. Blessings from Croatia: A Little R & R: http://www.litterandr.org

    • lholmes79 July 27, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      I totally agree. In a time when people need jobs, I can’t understand why we’re boycotting a company and refusing to allow them to build chains in Boston, etc. just b/c we have different views. I hope this doesn’t continue – that would mean conservative cities wouldn’t allow liberal restaurants, and liberal cities wouldn’t allow conservative restaurants, all b/c of a CEO’s beliefs. We have to pray that our freedom of speech is not taken away. Keep praying, friends! 🙂 Blessings, Lauren

  3. joy July 27, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    i am going to share this. thanks. i just know we have to stand for God. if he says marriage is a certain way, then thats what i will stand for. i (my flesh) may wish it was diff, but i am not going to argue with him.

    • lholmes79 July 27, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      I totally understand – I did not want to write on this either b/c I hate being controversial. 🙂 But if the people who oppose Chick-fil-A are speaking out, then we as Christians also need to be a voice and speak out in love too. Even though it may not be popular in today’s culture, we cannot change what God’s word says about marriage. Blessings! Lauren

  4. mommasylvia July 27, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Amen sister!

  5. Kristin July 27, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    I’m currently one of those boycotters but not because he said he doesnt believe in same sex marriage. As much as I disagree with him, I wasnt about to boycott because of his personal beliefs. When I read his statement for myself, I felt very offended when he said ‘may god have mercy on you’- especially, when he said that those who are pro-same sex marriages have arrogant attitudes. I am many things, but arrogant is not one of them.

    • lholmes79 July 27, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      I understand, Kristen! I also thought that he could have worded that differently. It is very important ‘how’ we say things, b/c a slip of the tongue or wrong wording can really turn people off from the underlying message. That’s where PR ppl come in but it looks like he died today. 😦 Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  6. rainbowheartlove July 28, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    I think there is a place for boycotting but I don’t think this is one of those situation. If a company is doing something unethical like mistreating it’s workers, then I could see a boycott. But, a CEO saying making a statement that I disagree with. No, that is not a boycott situation for me.
    By the way, I’m one of the odd Christians who just can’t seem to go against gay marriage. I have a met a few gay couples who have stayed together in a monogamous relationship without the benefit of marriage for a longer time than some married people. Living together. Raising kids together…

    • lholmes79 July 28, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      Hey Tracy! Thanks for commenting! 🙂 I hear where you’re coming from, but I’ve got to stick with the Bible on this issue. But that’s the beauty of it, that we can agree to disagree and still respect each other! 🙂 Blessings! Lauren

  7. Alexandrea J July 29, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    This totally and COMPLETELY my opinion as well! 🙂 I LOVE this because it just doesn’t make sense to me why anyone would boycott a company just because they disagree with the CEO. Honestly, who cares! I mean if that’s the case then we’d all have to only shop with people we totally agree with. So if I find out the CEO of Coach likes the color purple…and I like the color green….well we are gonna have some problems! LOL I mean what kind of logic is that? 🙂 lol I definitely think that our world preaches tolerance and respect until Christianity comes into play, then everyone attacks that opinion. So I fully agree with you. Hopefully people will catch on to the unfairness of boycotting an establishment just because of a disagreement.

    • lholmes79 July 29, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      I hear you Alexandrea – thanks for commenting! Even though I believe marriage is between man and woman, (like the Bible says,) I’d never boycott Target b/c their ads show two men having a wedding registry. I don’t boycott everyone just b/c our views aren’t the same. I accept that we are different and still choose to love regardless of whether or not I agree with you. Hopefully one day everyone can do the same! 🙂 Lauren

  8. Angie Clark July 30, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Great post. Thanks for writing on a current issue. America is pretty backwards these days. The protection of speech was put into law to protect those whose opinions were not popular. And these days it’s true that Christian worldviews are not popular. Still, mainstream America acts like our opinions have no right to be voiced because they disagree with theirs! If you don’t want to spend your money somewhere because of the owners views, than don’t. But to boycott and say they’ll have no place to set up business in your town because their opinion differs from yours is yet another step in the direction of communism! (in my opinion)

    • lholmes79 July 30, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks for commenting! It is soo important that we voice our opinion too, (in love of course,) and let people know that all views should be welcome – just because a Christian disagrees with something does not mean that we hate anyone. You bring up great points! Be blessed! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

