Just because you’re young doesn’t mean you can’t be rich

2 Aug

freedigitalphotos.net

I meet so many talented young people every day.  They have so many talents, skills and abilities.

One girl who was 28 came to me once who was depressed because she was working in fast food and wanted more.  (There’s nothing wrong with working fast food if that’s where God wants you to be, but in this girl’s case, she knew that wasn’t God’s plan for her.)

She went on to say that she knew how to write contracts, grants, and had worked with million dollar foundations.  With all of her experience,  it sounded like she needed to be self-employed.  She already had a foot in with so many high-ranking people in her industry, so why not?

She went on to tell me she had no idea how to start it up, market herself, and that no one would take her seriously.  I told her I’d work with her and help her get it started, and even set her up with people who could help her.  She wanted to hear none of it.  She had convinced herself that she wasn’t good enough, and that was that.

It breaks my heart when people refuse to rise to their God given potential out of fear and low self-worth.  I was once there.  I thought no one would take me seriously b/c I was in my 20’s.  But God’s word tells us not to let people look down on us b/c we’re young.

If you have a God-given dream, do it no matter what anyone says or thinks!  Just b/c you’re young doesn’t mean you can’t be successful, influential, rich or in charge!  Yes, research your field, find mentors, educate yourself, get internships…I’m not saying it always happens over night, but you have to start somewhere!

On the job, I’ve managed people in their 60’s, and it’s not b/c I’m so “wonderful.” It’s that when you understand that you are worth something and a precious child of God, your attitude changes.  You realize that no one can stop you.  You begin to walk in a new authority.

One of my best friends is a prime example.  She started a web design firm at 22, and was grossing over 3 – 4,000 per month.  Now she’s my age, around 27, and I’m pretty sure she’s making twice that now.  She refuses to let people look down on her b/c she’s young, Black, or a female.  She knows her worth.

And even if you’re not in you’re 20’s, it’s never too late to start believing in yourself. Rise up with God-given authority and take charge!

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

9 Responses to “Just because you’re young doesn’t mean you can’t be rich”

  1. Alexandrea J. August 4, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    THANK YOU for this post! I’m young, Black and female and when I originally started my ministry I didn’t do alot of things because I was insecure, afraid and felt like no one would take me seriously. Now God has been transforming my mind to realize that He has given me the blessing to do His work and so I don’t need to worry about if people will take me seriously because He will supply the people who are looking for Him and He will equip me to be able to offer them the help and information that they need. Seeing this post only makes me more happy and comforted! So thank you for writing this! This really encouraged me!!!

    Ajwilson412.blogspot.com

    • lholmes79 August 4, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      Same here. Now I do all of it b/c I know that with God, I can, no matter what! 🙂 Glad you’re encouraged! Blessings!

  2. Bonnie August 4, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    I know that sometimes I don’t feel like I am worthy or capable, but this is just diminishing the power of God..I am learning to honor His might by going forward with my dreams..

    • lholmes79 August 11, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Yes Bonnie, never stop dreaming and doing!

  3. Ashley Walkup August 14, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I’m in my twenties and I make a pretty good living from home. I would be a lot more timid if I had to meet people face to face but communicating over the web gives me confidence! Thanks for your encouraging post!

    Ashley
    http://EmbracingBeauty.com

    • lholmes79 August 15, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      Thanks Ashley! What do you do from home? I’m glad it helped – I need to revisit this too to keep mine up, and of course, read the word. 🙂

      • Ashley Walkup August 15, 2012 at 11:07 am #

        I’m a blogger also. I’ve been at it for quite a few years now and you can find me at http://EmbracingBeauty.com. Blogging has allowed me to make connections with brands. I’m an ambassador for a few companies and from time to time I do consulting and social media work for different brands.

      • lholmes79 August 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

        Wow that’s awesome, Ashley! I’d love to talk more about everything you’re doing for the Lord! Can you email me at Lholmes79@gmail.com when you get a chance? Thanks and blessings! 🙂

      • Ashley Walkup August 16, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

        Absolutely! I’ll email you now. : )

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

