God told me “No”

14 Aug

Lately, I’d been feeling like my blog was too “deep,” so I decided to lighten the mood by blogging about my strawberry bananna smoothie!lol…

I quickly felt God telling me no.  🙂

Here’s what I was going to say –

“…To obey is better than sacrifice…” (1 Samuel 15:22)

We live in a culture that tells us that we can live like hell, but as long as we make up for it through good deeds, we’re OK.  That is a direct contradiction of God’s word!

Yes, doing good deeds are part of the Christian life, but don’t be deceived – good deeds won’t cancel out sin.  The word tells us that we are saved by (God’s) grace, not our own good works.

Here’s an example – “I know the Bible says stealing is wrong, but I reeeaaally want this new bracelet.  I’ll just walk out of the store still wearing it on my arm, and then go help out at the homeless shelter to make up for it.”

It doesn’t work like that.  Remember – good deeds are good, but they don’t cancel out sin.

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

2 Responses to “God told me “No””

  1. Alexandrea J. August 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Amen!! So true! I love that you said we are saved by grace and not by our works…I frequently tend to forget that and try to earn salvation through my actions. But I am sooo grateful that it doesn’t work like that since I do mess up so often… Thanks for this post!

    Plus, just so you know…I LOVE your deep posts!!! I just started following you but I love them!!! So keep ’em coming!!! 🙂

    ajwilson412.blogspot.com

    • lholmes79 August 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Thanks! I’m guilty too sometimes of trying to do so many good works that I tire myself out! 🙂 We don’t have to overdo it – Jesus will still love us anyway. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoy the deep posts; thanks!lol…now I don’t feel like Debbie Downer!haha Blessings!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

