Teen Mom made me Grateful

15 Aug

Google Images

Although I don’t watch a whole lot of TV, last night’s episode of Teen Mom both broke my heart and me made me grateful.

I watched as Catelyn and Tyler thought about taking a semester off from school because at first, they didn’t have anyone to consult with about changing their major.  I was grateful for parents who helped me when I not only changed majors, but also schools. 🙂

I watched as Farrah unknowingly scared away her boyfriend by discussing marriage early into the relationship.  I was grateful for parents who talked to me about dating and gave me Christian books to read on relationship do’s and don’t’s.

I watched as Amber cried and fell deeper into depression, with only one friend who stood by her side.  I was grateful for parents and friends who stood with me during the hard times, and guided me back to happiness.

I watched as Maci was verbally abused and put down by the father of her baby.  I was grateful that my husband would never act like that towards myself and my children.

The more I watched, the more I wanted to hug each of these girls.  I prayed for them last night, and I am praying about starting a group for Teen girls.

Don’t forget that the people we see on TV are real people too – let’s pray for them when we feel led, and take action in our own communities to help those that we feel a burden for! 🙂

Be blessed!

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

2 Responses to “Teen Mom made me Grateful”

  1. Alexandrea J. August 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    You know, I watch the show and I do rarely consider the fact that these are real women who are facing real life problems. I will be praying for them as well and I will also learn to be more grateful for the things in my life because I too am blessed and i need to be grateful for the people in my life that made a huge difference in my life. You never think, at the time, that parents who are encouraging you to stay in school or friends who stay with you while you cry are actually making the biggest difference but they are. Thank you for putting things in perspective 🙂

    Ajwilson412.blogspot.com

    • lholmes79 August 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Same here! I also used to just watch the show and think about how silly an immature they were, but recently, I have really felt bad for them. Guess God is softening my heart for the broken. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

