More money saving tips!

16 Aug

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

freedigitalphotos.net

Hello to all my frugal friends!

So recently I was at the airport, and I bought an Auntie Annie’s pretzel, and asked for a cup of water.  Apparently, there is no such thing as a free cup of water anymore!  They want you to buy a $2.50 bottle of water!!lol…

So needless to say, this mama is on a quest to keep saving money even if restaurants are no longer giving out free waters, sauces, etc.  🙂

So here are a few more tips:

1. Bring a bottle of water with you everywhere – no longer is water free.  Even at my favorite Japanese place at the mall, as of this week, they no longer let you get free water.

2. Every morning, I make a huge bowl of air-popped popcorn.  The kids and I munch on it all day for snack, and we take some with us everywhere to avoid buying fast food.

3. Do the Dave Ramsey envelope system.  My bills come out automatically, and all other expenses are distributed into three envelopes filled with cash for A. Food/toiletries, B. Gas, and C. Entertainment.  This allows me to control where every cent goes and I am saving waaay more!!

What about you?  Share your money saving tips with this frugal mama! 🙂

Blessings!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

4 Responses to “More money saving tips!”

  1. iamnaia August 17, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Hello. I enjoy reading your blog.

    As a diabetic and having two small children, Imd like to say that I wouldn’t do the popcorn thing. It is empty carbs and, in the long run, not entirely healthy. As an alternative, I purchase a $4 plastic tub of “trail mix” at my local Albertson’s. It lasts a few days and is reasonably healthy. My boys actually ask for it for a snack, even. It’s a great mix of carbs and protein and doesn’t cost a lot. Much healthier.

    Thank you for your thoughts, hints and suggestions,

    Naia.

    • lholmes79 August 17, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Hi Naia – I’m that glad you enjoy reading! Thanks for those tips! 🙂 We recently have added a another snack – a mix of cranberries and almonds. They love it! I’m excited to announce that next week starting on Wednesdays, we’ll have a nutritionist doing a guest post on any nutrition subject or question you want. If you have any questions, just let me know or post them in the comments section on Wellness/Weight Loss Wednesdays, and Kelly the nutritionist will answer one of them the following week. 🙂 This coming Wed. is actually about healthy carbs! Blessings!

  2. Alexandrea J. August 17, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    I love the envelope and popcorn idea! I’m going to start doing that!

    • lholmes79 August 17, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks Alexandrea! I just told my friend about the popcorn idea this morning, and she’s getting on board too. 🙂 The envelopes are fun too – just make sure you take the cash with you – I’ve forgotten a few times and had to end up using my debit card!lol… Blessings!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

