The silent killer of stay at home moms

17 Aug

freedigitalphotos.net

Ok, so here  another post that I honestly did not want to write about.  🙂  I’m about to take the kids to the water park with friends, so I’d rather post about fun in the sun, but you’ve gotta be obedient to God, right??  🙂

So anyway, this silent killer plagues not only stay at home moms, but so many others as well: depression.

When I worked more, I did not have time to be depressed.  But when you’re at home more, you’ve got more time to think about what’s not right in your life.

If you begin to focus on what’s wrong, you may begin to find yourself feeling sad and depressed.

That’s why it is so important to start your morning off with quiet time, prayer, and meditation on the word.

And if you’re still feeling sad, don’t feel guilty if you need therapy.  Get the help that you need!

Fellowship with others helps to, especially if you’re at home with kids all day.

And for stay at home moms, as much as we love our kids, hearing an adults voice is nice too. 🙂

I’m starting an online Bible study coming up, and I encourage you to do the same.  For more ideas, here’s the one that I’m using.

http://www.goodmorninggirls.org/2012/08/fall-session-sign-ups-start-today/

Be blessed!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

6 Responses to “The silent killer of stay at home moms”

  1. Amber Thornton August 17, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Which group are you going to be in?? I would love to be in yours!! 🙂

    • lholmes79 August 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks Amber! 🙂 I will get you the info. shortly! Blessings!

  2. ellieeugenia August 17, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I have definitely dealt with this, thank you for sharing your experience, this bible study looks interesting. 🙂

    • lholmes79 August 17, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks! I’m excited to try the Bible study – I will for sure let everyone know how it progresses. 🙂 Blessings!

  3. HappyHousewife August 28, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    I fear you may fall into the category ‘hating on housewives’ here without intending to. You see, feminists have always claimed how so many housewives were depressed and using medication to get through the day. But since the 70’s, women have been getting LESS happy, not more (coinciding with a change in attitude and many less housewives). Also, 25% of American women today are getting medication for psychological problems. That is more than ever before – and there are less housewives than ever. Though I do agree having the time to overthink your life may force you to face your demons, it is important to point out that being a housewife in and of itself is not depressing – in fact, the opposite may be true.

    • lholmes79 August 28, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Thanks for commenting; I hear where you’re coming from! 🙂 You are so right – depression can happen any time that you over think your life, whether you stay at home or not. The important thing is to keep God the center of your focus. I love housewives, (being that I am one in a sense working from home,) so please know that I would never hate on you or anyone else. I have only love for all of God’s children regardless of housewife, working mom, etc. Blessings! 🙂 Lauren

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

