Someone’s gotta be rich. Why not you??

23 Aug

 

 

 

 

 

 

freedigitalphotos.net

Ever heard any of these: “I’m struggling in my finances – maybe God wants me to be poor to teach me something,” or, “I don’t have much, and neither did my parents, but it’s OK because we get by all right…plus it’s wrong to be focused on money...”

But the Bible never said wanting more money was wrong; it warns to guard against the love of money.

“Whoever loves money never has money enough, whoever loves wealth is never satisfied with his income,” Ecclesiastes 6:6.

Why resign yourself to be poor?  Instead, why not ask God for wealth so that you can be in a position to bless others?

Someone has to be rich.  Why not you?

Don’t talk yourself out of wealth – anyone can do it.   We live in an age where stay at home moms have started million dollar at home businesses, and where college dropouts start the largest computer firms in the world.

Again, why not you?

If you want more, start reading up on finance.  Get some Dave Ramsey books and buy the book “The Success Principles.”  Start a side business.  Drive through a neighborhood of million dollar homes and ask yourself, “why not me?”  Begin to pray about business opportunities that will double your income.  Think of creative ways to bring in more.  Find a mentor who is where you want to be, and ask them how they got there.  Don’t be afraid to admit that you don’t have all the answers.

When my husband and I were praying one night, we felt that God wanted us to rent out our extra rooms to singles, and show them an example of a loving, (but not perfect,) married couple who put God first.  Only problem was, we didn’t have any extra rooms!lol…but we did desires a house at the time.  Within a few months, we had just bought a new house, and were bringing in $1000/month in rental income in our early 20’s.

Don’t put anything past God or think He can’t bless you.  When your desire is to bless others, and your heart is in the right place, then watch God do it, no matter your past or your current financial state.

What about you?  What are some creative ways that your family brings in extra income?

Be blessed!

***I am looking for guest bloggers!  If interested, please message me!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

2 Responses to “Someone’s gotta be rich. Why not you??”

  1. plasso design August 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    “Why resign yourself to be poor? Instead, why not ask God for wealth so that you can be in a position to bless others?”

    Do you mean to imply that “wealth” a prerequisite to blessing people? I agree, a defeated “this is how it’s always going to be” attitude is socially draining, but an “I’ll give when I can afford it” attitude is just as detrimental.

    Our personal comfort is of no concern to God, especially when it comes to following through on an opportunity to be a positive factor in someone’s life. The point of blessing someone else is to give up something of your own first. I blessed a gentleman last night with a $5 bill our of our food budget, meaning we decided to skip out on a box of ice cream so Bill (the man we watched dig through the cigarette trash pedestals outside our local post office) could get a burger from the neighboring fast food joint. Bill was not pan-handling, he didn’t even acknowledge our presence in the parking lot. I observed his situation, then took action and approached him as he was walking out of the parking lot. Blessing others requires our active observation and proactive giving. Nearly in tears, Bill hugged me and encouraged me to take care of my three sons who were with me, then disappeared around the street corner. I blessed Bill as much by recognizing he was alive and valuing him enough as a human being to ask his name. Blessings are far beyond finances.

    “Affording” to give is the same as “affording” to get married or “affording” to have a baby, it’s nothing more than a hollow excuse to avoid your responsibility.

    Dave Ramsey teaches giving as the number one priority when developing your personal budget, regardless of your financial situation. My wife (and three kids) are now on baby step 3, putting the steps on hold so my wife can quit her job and go back to school. Reducing us to a single-income family will not stop our giving, or even hinder our ability to bless another’s life. God will provide you more opportunities and more resources as you prove your responsibility with what He’s already provided.

    Stepping off my soap-box now…..here’s a few ideas we’ve used to bring in some extra cash :-):

    Turn your hobby into a small business. I’m an artist and a musician so I pursue creating art in the evenings and on weekend, then sell my work using free web-hosting tools (i.e wordpress, facebook page, etc.)

    Teach others how to do your hobby – I teach private art and drum lessons out of the house, one night a week

    My wife loves to cook, we sell her baked goods to friends and coworkers; we’re considering the proper licensing to sell at local markets. She also is a Pampered Chef hostess.

    She teaches in high school, private tutoring is a great way for a teacher to generate some additional income.

    Last, don’t get too attached to anything. If you haven’t used it in the last year and have to think more than 2 minutes to figure out how you’ll honestly use it during the next 3 months; sell it.

    • lholmes79 August 23, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      Great ideas! Thanks for commenting! 🙂 I 100% agree. Those are some good ways to make extra income – I’m taking notes! 🙂 Blessings!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

