I eavesdropped on two little old ladies

2 Oct

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

freedigitalphotos.net

Disclaimer: This is not about two little old lady boxers, although it is about two little old ladies.  Sorry for any false advertisement – I just thought this lady looked cute in her boxing gloves!haha  ;p

 

Today at the YMCA as I was filling up my water bottle with decaf., I heard two little old ladies having a spirited discussion at the tables in the front lobby.  I lingered a bit longer at the coffee station to hear what was going on.

In my day, there wasn’t all this debt like we see now,” said a lady with short white hair who I’ll call Agnes.

I know, we bought what we needed, and that was it.  We didn’t have all these gadgets that cost an arm and a leg,” replied “Agnes” friend.

Hmm…I thought about how right they were.  Imagine if we only bought what we truly needed?  I am not against technology; I have the iphone, but only because my plan was up and I needed a new phone.  ...And I didn’t spend hundreds of dollar or camp out overnight to get it!lol…

But back to what “Agnes” was saying, what if we ate meals at home more, and stopped spending extra money on fast food?  What if we bought homes we could actually afford instead of stretching our wallet’s to buy a 4,000 sq. foot home whose payments leave us house poor?  What if we resisted the urge to buy our kids twenty presents for Christmas, and instead just bought or made one or two small gifts, and focused on the true meaning?

I challenge you to go a week and buy only what you “need,” and to see how much money you save.  I tried this a few months ago, and was amazed at how much extra money I had at the end of the month.

What about you? How else do you save a few bucks?  What do you think about what “Agnes” said? 🙂

Blessings!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

I’ve lost ten pounds (and still losing) with exercise and an awesome wellness supplement called Visi – read my testimony here and msg. me for more info! http://teamvisi.com/laurenholmes/Bio.html

4 Responses to “I eavesdropped on two little old ladies”

  1. rdrevilo October 2, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Good read. Tell me what you think about this. Its fitting.. http://rdrevilo.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/en-slaved-by-negative-money/

    • lholmes79 October 3, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Wow – what an awesome visual! Debt really is like a prison. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Ashley Walkup October 18, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    I hate debt and I’m all about buying things that are nice and make you happy IF you can afford them.

    • lholmes79 October 28, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Me too Ashley! Debt is not our friend either and we have none of it. 🙂 We are also pretty frugal, but we’ll treat ourselves every now and then. Blessings!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

