And the next President is…

17 Oct

Image courtesy of googleimages.com

Well, we just don’t know who will win yet…  🙂  We have no idea, and it’s driving some of us craaaazy!!lol…

Yes, we need to be involved in politics.  And yes, I will be exercising my right to vote.

But there are a few things I won’t be doing:

1. I won’t be bashing the candidates.  Nothing wrong with voicing your opinion, but I won’t be calling anyone an “idiot” or “worthless” or other names that I am teaching my children to avoid.  I choose prayer and respectful discussions over name-calling.

2. I won’t be getting into political debates on facebook.  I have seen people lose life-long friends over “facebook arguments,” and most of the time, people’s minds aren’t going to be changed by a heated five minute exchange that takes place on facebook.

3. I will be trusting in God regardless of who gets into the White House.  Because of my faith, I know that regardless of which candidate is elected, my God is still on the throne.  I refuse to act like my “life is over” if my candidate of choice is not elected.

Even if we disagree on politics, we can agree to trust in God.  We can agree not to give into the arguments and insulting that we see the world doing.  We can agree to take the high road regardless of what those around us are doing.

Blessings!  🙂

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

I’ve lost ten pounds (and still losing) with exercise and an awesome wellness supplement called Visi – read my testimony here and msg. me for more info! http://teamvisi.com/laurenholmes/Bio.html

4 Responses to “And the next President is…”

  1. Sylvia October 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    I feel the exact same way that you do!

    • lholmes79 October 17, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks Sylvia; it is great that you are praying for our future leaders and keeping out of the disagreements. 🙂 Blessings and good to hear from you! Lauren

  2. yalandarose October 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    you’re right, it’s amazing how politics can bring out the worst even in Christians! it’s as if there’s an exception to His Word during this time and it’s not. it would be nice if a politician can run a classy campaign without having to bash his opponent. what does that say about yourself as a leader if you are not confident in your skills to bring up your opponent’s dirty laundry?

    • lholmes79 October 17, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      That’s right, Yalanda! We don’t get a pass on behaving like Christians just b/c we don’t like a candidate. 🙂 I am glad you’re being a good example during the election; keep it up!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

