I’m an extreme cheapskate!

3 Dec

Photo: Love my girls

Here is a picture of me at dinner with friends  at PF Chang’s – I’ll tell you how I saved money on my meal further below…

Recently I found out about a show called “Extreme Cheapskates,” and while I get a good laugh watching people pick salad from weeds off the side of the road, or hanging used dental floss on a clothespin for reuse, (lol,) there are a few pointers I’ve picked up.

Here they are:

1. Always ask for a discount.  Recently I asked the storage people for a discount, and the price went from $70 to $23 just from asking!  When I asked the Cox people for a discount, they waived the new installation fee.  Always ask…the worst they can say is no! 🙂

2. Make DIY gifts.  This year, (if I can get around to it,) I’m making teacup candles, chocolate dipped candy canes, and bath salts for Christmas.  I did the math, and it’s around $9 per person.  Please act surprised if you receive one of these gifts!haha…

3. Make your own cleaning products from water, baking soda and vinegar.  One guy claims he only used combinations of these for years.  Wow!

4. PF Chang’s: Save $ by ordering a veggie appetizer ($5) and adding chicken for $3.  I always order the Szechuan style asparagus and add chicken for $3.  Even with a coconut cooler, my meal was only $11, while everyone else’s was around $19.

Any more extreme cheapskate ideas?

Here is an episode you may enjoy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcutWsWHgD8

Blessings!

The book is due out in the Fall of 2012. :)

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or “like” my fan page below. :)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

