Naomi Tucker – God says that I’m Beautiful

13 Mar

naomi

For the next two weeks, we are doing a series on what God says on beauty to lead up to our March Beauty Bash and Lunch to benefit the Crisis Pregnancy Center. Today’s interview will feature Naomi Tucker, a Theatre Artist and an amazing woman of God who is beautiful both inside and out!

What does beauty mean to you?

Beauty is wholeness in a world that has many broken pieces. The trouble with this definition is that we all come with so many wounds and scars – so many broken pieces – that it’s hard to believe we could ever be whole, let alone beautiful. We strive and primp and push ourselves towards an unreachable ideal of beauty when, at its very heart, beauty is simple wholeness.

When Jesus healed the woman with the issue of blood, He told her, “Your faith has made you whole.”

Whole: complete, lacking nothing, with nothing left out. I feel less than beautiful when I feel like I’m missing something – the right accessories, a cute outfit, the perfect hairstyle, enough time, clear skin, etc, etc, etc. And yet, even when all of those align, I often disregard the compliments of others, because I feel the brokenness in my heart and refuse to believe them. They can’t see the ugliness I see inside. In that moment, my heart fights through a crowd of lies and cries out to my Creator. “Your faith has made you whole. I have made you whole, daughter,” He says. And the light of beauty, the grace of wholeness, heals.

What is beauty?

Beauty is the shy child’s involuntary joyous smile. Beauty is the woman at rest in her skin, simply loving those around her. Beauty is the united man and woman embracing love and respect. Beauty picks up the broken pieces and believes that the Creator can make them whole. Beauty lies in the choice to believe that someone loves us enough to make us whole – complete, lacking nothing, and with nothing left out.

What inner trait about yourself makes you feel beautiful?

I have been blessed with the gift of creativity. There is nothing that makes me feel more alive, more full of purpose, or more absolutely gorgeous than when I’m creating! Whether it’s writing a new play, dabbling in scenic design, arranging flowers, stitching costumes, stringing beads, crafting a new organizational system, or inventing a recipe – my ability to create makes me feel beautiful. To compliment anything I’ve created is to compliment me personally.

What outer feature about yourself do you love?

Unashamedly, I love my hair. It is long, thick, healthy, and certainly my favorite part about me. It was always long-ish as a child, but I cut it very short once in 7th grade (big mistake) and haven’t cut it since (besides trims and layers!). I’m constantly amazed at how long it is – and how much I love it!! A newspaperman reviewing a play I was in once specifically praised my “chestnut curls” and I loved him for it. The happiest part of this love-love relationship I have with my hair is that my hair is kind to me. I can do just about anything to it (dry, curl, straighten) in under 15 minutes. Or I can let it air dry and be wild and wavy, reminding me of summer fun! AND (my favorite part!) if I curl it today, I will wake up with near perfect curls tomorrow that need very little touch up. My hair definitely makes me happy!

Blessings,

Naomi

Thanks again to Naomi for a beautifully written and wonderfully poignant interview! 🙂

***Ladies, looking for a fun time of lunch, beauty tips, and a great time of fellowship as we discuss God’s design for marriage? Then come join me at the March Beauty Bash and Lunch on Saturday, March 30th at noon – proceeds will be donated towards the Crisis Pregnancy Center! Register below!

https://www.facebook.com/events/424589357632345/?ref=ts&fref=ts

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com/March-Beauty-Bash-and-Lunch.html

***We are giving away a free spot at our March Beauty Bash and Lunch – to qualify, please leave a comment on this post on what beauty means to you!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

