Coffee and a Chat with Jessica Chacko

10 Apr

jessica

I love to interview friends, but this interview was especially fun because it features my childhood friend from elementary school, Jessica, who is now a Producer at the Christian Broadcasting Network.

What does beauty mean to you?

I think the concept of beauty is something most young girls and women have struggled with at some point in their lives- myself included. But when I think about the most beautiful women I know, they are all women with the most beautiful hearts full and overflowing with the love of God!

The Bible has some pretty clear things to say about beauty:

“Your adornment must not be merely external—braiding the hair, and wearing gold jewelry, or putting on dresses; but let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

 

What inner trait about yourself makes you feel beautiful?

The inner trait that makes me feel most beautiful is compassion. I think compassion is a deep kind of beauty that all people of all walks of life can recognize. Just think of Mother Theresa. Watching her love a beggar or hold an orphan reminds me that there is a deep beauty in connecting with God’s heart for the lost and the hurting. I love helping the lost, the unloved and the oppressed. I feel most beautiful and most alive when I am connecting with God’s heart for His people- whether that is at work, at church or on the mission field. I believe it is His beautiful love that inspires and compels us to be beautiful as He is beautiful.

What outer feature about yourself do you love?

I guess I would have to say my eyes. My dad is from India and my mom is American and of Scottish, Irish and German descent. I’ve always enjoyed seeing how I resemble them in different ways. I think my eyes are a good example of this. I can see traits of both my mom and my dad in the way God created my eyes.

What is one (inexpensive or free thing) you or other women can do to make themselves feel beautiful?

The two things that I constantly have to remind myself are: 1. That it’s okay not to be perfect. 2. Allow God to tell you how He sees you.

My mom told me a long time ago that when she feels unhappy with something about herself she asks God what He thinks of it. It is amazing how a Word from God can make such a difference in how we perceive ourselves. The things we find imperfect about ourselves, He absolutely loves.

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or to “like” our fan page below.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch our videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oRdKMth_eE

*** Do you have dreams that you have yet to accomplish?  Do you know what needs to be done, but you can’t figure out why you’re not doing it?  For years, this was me.  I would love to partner along side of you, and help you to come up with a plan to achieve your goals and dreams!   Let’s connect today!

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com

In need of a fun time away to learn new recipes? Are you recently married and needing to learn the basics in the kitchen?  Or maybe you’ve been married for years, but just want to sample some yummy cuisine while lounging by the pool and jacuzzi? :)
If you answered “YES” to any of these questions, it’s time to sign up for our Brides in Training Summer Cooking Series!  :)

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com/Cooking-Classes.html

Love pretty jewelry? ME TOO!! Check out my Traci Lynn Fashion Jewelry page – our jewelry is cute, professional, fun, and has that BLING factor that we all love!

http://www.tracilynnjewelry.net/laurenholmes

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

