A Chat and Tea with Mandy!

11 Apr

Image

I have some EXCITING news – we are starting a new series called “Before marriage I thought…After Marriage I learned…” to lead up to our Brides in Training Brunch on Saturday, April 27th.  There are still a few spots left, so get signed up today! :)

 

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com/Brides-in-Training-Brunch.html

But before we hear more on that next week, I am excited to introduce to you all Mandy Dawson, a Lover of Jesus, a Wife, a Mother, a Worship Leader, a Songwriter, and a true example of beauty!

 

What does beauty mean to you?

Beauty is pervasive in our physical world from the sun rising over the ocean to the drop of dew sparkling on a blade of grass in the meadow, or the sounds of orchestral strings rising and falling together or the vision of silver skyscrapers glinting in the evening light.

I find beauty in good morning hugs, the musical laugh of children, and the gentle touch of a loved one. Beauty is boundless and endless. It is God made and man expressed. There is beauty in every single one of us handcrafted by God and put inside us to reflect Him in this world. And while that beauty is reflected in our physical being, our most true and profound beauty is found within.

Love is beauty. Selflessness is beauty. Strength, perseverance, meekness, generosity–all are beauty. Beauty in the world and in humanity compels us to discover our Creator, and when we have found Him, the beauty He sees in us compels us to search Him out and understand the depths of His love for the rest of our lives.

What inner trait about yourself makes you feel beautiful?

Right now, I would have to say love as in “love is patient, love is kind.” Staying at home with my two preschoolers and being their primary care giver 24/7 has really opened my eyes to what true love looks like. I’m constantly in a situation where I can choose to love and selflessness or fall into impatience. When I’m struggling in a situation, you know the kind–100 things happening at once (one kid writing with marker on the floor while the other is asking you to get their pajamas while you are trying to fix breakfast AND empty the dishwasher!) In those situations, all I can say to myself is “love is patient, love is kind” –it’s not that I don’t need the rest of the famous verse, it’s just that by the end of “love is patient, love is kind” these two simple phrases have helped to guide me in the right response. When I am able to choose love, patience and kindness, I do feel beautiful and I am profoundly aware of God’s graciousness and His love, because without Him, (the true source of love,) I have none on my own.

What other feature about yourself do you love?

Light-heartedness. I love to laugh and sing and play! I make up silly songs about vegetables and waking up in the morning. It’s fun to make up games and play with my children. Daily responsibilities often weigh heavily on me and it is a challenge to sometimes let other things go a bit so that I can maintain a light heart–it’s almost never easy when there are dishes in the sink and laundry to be folded. Sometimes, I have to choose to ignore all that (for just a little bit–a whole day of ignoring usually results in even more stress!) and seize a moment to just have fun.

What is one (inexpensive or free thing) you or other women can do to make themselves feel beautiful?

Maintaining the hairstyle that I love has been something that helps me feel beautiful. After my son was born, I spent the next 20 months going without a haircut and sporting a ponytail almost every day. When a dear mentor of mine passed away in her 70s, I saw a picture of her when she was in her 30’s and she had a similar short, cute hair cut then as she did when she passed away. In that moment a light bulb went off in my mind and I looked in the mirror and thought, “What am I doing wearing this ponytail every day and feeling lousy about myself?”

I knew that short hair looked best on me, but I hadn’t found the time to maintain it since my baby’s birth. No more. I think I made an appointment that very day and got a great big chop! The stylist was a little nervous, but I knew it was the right thing, and there has been no going back. I still go with a bit of a no fuss cut–a little mousse, a little spray, a light finger scrunch and I’m on my way! It feels good to look in the mirror and see hair that compliments my face, and know that when I’m 70, I’ll have a few less “what was she thinking” photos to browse through!

Blessings,

Mandy

To learn more about Mandy, feel free to visit her website at:

http://www.mandydawson.com

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or to “like” our fan page below.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

 

And watch our videos here if you like:

https://lholmes79.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/check-out-my-cool-videos-collection-at-lockerz/3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oRdKMth_eE

 

*** Do you have dreams that you have yet to accomplish?  Do you know what needs to be done, but you can’t figure out why you’re not doing it?  For years, this was me.  I would love to partner along side of you, and help you to come up with a plan to achieve your goals and dreams!   Let’s connect today!

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com

 

In need of a fun time away to learn new recipes? Are you recently married and needing to learn the basics in the kitchen?  Or maybe you’ve been married for years, but just want to sample some yummy cuisine while lounging by the pool and jacuzzi?
If you answered “YES” to any of these questions, it’s time to sign up for our Brides in Training Summer Cooking Series!

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com/Cooking-Classes.html

 

Love pretty jewelry? ME TOO!! Check out my Traci Lynn Fashion Jewelry page – our jewelry is cute, professional, fun, and has that BLING factor that we all love!

http://www.tracilynnjewelry.net/laurenholmes

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

