When I felt like giving up…

21 Sep

Image

So often, people think we have it all together based on appearances, (like this picture of my friend and I before a wedding.)  But behind the smiling facebook photos, 🙂 the truth is that everyone has faced a time in life where they felt like giving up.  You have probably heard the verse, “do not grow weary in doing good, for in due time you will reap a harvest,” but it can still be tough to keep on doing the right thing when you’re worn out and don’t see any good coming out of your efforts.

That has been me so many times.  Once I had a conversation with a friend, (I can’t even remember who it was now…lol,) but I remember us saying that we sometimes felt overwhelmed and tired just thinking about all that we knew God wanted us to do.  Why couldn’t things just be “easy,” we joked, (we were joking, but really, we kind of meant it.)  We were growing weary serving the Lord.

But now, I truly believe that there are seasons in life.  Some seasons are busy – we’re out there doing a whole lot of work for the Lord.  In other seasons that we go through, it’s just us and God.  We wonder why things have gotten more quiet. We may feel like we’re not being used by God.  We may feel like giving up.  And this has been me many times.  But in those times, we have to ask God to refresh us and give us back our passion to serve Him.

Image

Recently I had a time like this.  I was so tired of giving.  I just wanted to sit on the couch for a month, do nothing, and eat cheetos!lol…And yes, relaxation time is good. 🙂  …but God showed me that once I was done relaxing, it was time to get moving again.

So there you have it.  That’s the truth!  We all have our cheeto days…but I pray that you do not get stuck there…keep on moving, and ask God for a sign for what direction you should be moving towards if you’re confused.  Sometimes it’s just as a simple as a word from friend, or a picture that you see in a magazine.  God speaks in all kinds of ways!  🙂  Don’t give up – God loves you even though you may be going through a tough time.  Be encouraged!  Take time to refresh yourself in His presence.  Maybe it’s turning off all the distractions and having some quiet time with Him.  Just like we share secrets with close friends, I believe that God has amazing secrets to share with us – we just have to be spending time with Him to hear.  🙂

Image

Blessings,

Lauren

If you’re in the Hampton Roads area, I would love it if you joined us for our next “Bride of Christ Women’s Brunch” – food, fun, & fellowship – on Saturday, October 19th – check back soon for the facebook event page! :)

https://www.facebook.com/events/341355912665311/?fref=ts

http://www.successcoachingandtutoring.com/Women-s-Ministry-Events.html

If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog or to “like” my fan page below.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Loving-Life/378787838834868

And watch my videos here if you like: :)

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheLholmes79

Love pretty jewelry? ME TOO!! Check out my Traci Lynn Fashion Jewelry page – our jewelry is cute, professional, fun, and has that BLING factor that we all love!

http://www.tracilynnjewelry.net/laurenholmes

One Response to “When I felt like giving up…”

  1. shawnrjones12 September 21, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Amen!!!!
    I have been there, weary and worn down. I am so happy that I continued to walk through it with the Lord. There is always a blessing on the other side.

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

