Today’s my B-day! What I learned this year…

27 Dec

christmas 11

Today is my 30th birthday, so I wanted to share a few things that I’ve learned this year! 🙂

1. Make time to enjoy family!  Throughout my 20’s, I was super busy and always trying to achieve.  And while that was kind of a good thing b/c I did accomplish a lot, I am making a point now to slow down and enjoy my time and my family more. 🙂  On your death bed, you’ll never say, “I wish I’d spend more time at the office.”

christmas 12

2. Exercise is important!  I love Zumba, but hadn’t had a lot of time this year with starting my businesses, so I didn’t do it as much, or go to the gym.  I was recently re-motivated by a good friend who wakes up at 5 a.m., swims for 45 minutes, goes to work full time, and then volunteers in her spare time, (and still has time for fun.)  Now, I’ll be waking up earlier to to devotionals and 20 minutes of Zumba before my preschool babies arrive at 7:15 a.m.  🙂

3. Not everyone will like you.  No matter how nice, friendly, or kind you are, some people won’t like you.  And while I always knew this, (and honestly didn’t care,) lol, I would sometimes still wonder why.  But now, I still don’t care, and I am done wondering why.  🙂  All I can do is keep moving forward, and those who don’t like me or resent me for whatever reason can do so without a thought of mine!  🙂

4. Schedule days where you do nothing.  This is so important.  If you don’t have quiet time to think, you may not realize the things you’re doing wrong, or could be doing better.  You won’t realize that your life is going off track, or that you’ve become stagnant in achieving your goals.  Alone time helps you to be honest with yourself.

dr pepper

5. Live by a budget.  I always knew about Dave Ramsey, but had never tried the cash/envelope system.  Recently I lost my debit card, and was forced to use cash for everything.   It really is true that when you use cash, you can physically see how quickly it is slipping through your hands, versus a painless swipe.  (I am not knocking credit cards; I just realize that implementing the envelope system for me is going to be super helpful!  🙂

That’s it…off to take a nap and then go celebrate my birthday this evening.  How about you?  What did you learn this year?  I’d love to hear!  🙂

Blessings,

Lauren

day 1

Lauren is a wife, mother, Jesus-lover, the owner of a Spanish Immersion Christian preschool, and the owner of an organic beauty company, (making her own home-made Soaps, Scrubs, Shea Butters, and more!)  She loves Zumba, Pilates, the beach, chocolate, berry smoothies, travel, and spending time with her friends, family and children.  Her life’s mission is to be happy, to help others, and to spread God’s love, as well as to be an Author, Motivational speaker, Consultant and Coach – her first book will be available soon!

2 Responses to “Today’s my B-day! What I learned this year…”

  1. gingy55 December 27, 2014 at 11:28 am #

    You are an over the top, awesome sauce Mom, wife, etc., with wisdom beyond your years! Happy 30th Birthday! Looking forward to your future postings! 🎂🎶🎈🎁☺️

    • lholmes79 September 3, 2015 at 6:48 pm #

      Thanks so much and sorry for the late comments!! I just realized that the comments format was changed so I’ve missed them for a while 😦 I appreciate your kind words and you are awesome too!! 🙂

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

