Have you Forgotten to Have Fun?

24 May

myrtle 2

Lately, I’ve had a few friends come to me and ask me how to balance their time better.  They want to be good parents, have time for themselves, and have fun, but they feel like currently, they’re just going through the motions.

What really helped me was something that I read at one of my favorite blogs called “Simple Homeschool.”  Basically, the author that said that she only does what is “hers,” and nothing else.  So I decided to do the same.  I made a list of everything that was mine: my Lauren’s Lathers business, running my preschool, my husband and family, writing, and teaching online.

easter 1

mom 3

That was my list.  Everything else that came my way, I had to say “no” to in order to keep my sanity.  🙂  This also frees up lots of extra time for spontaneous outings with friends, mini stay-cations or vacations, and more time to do things in the community or with my family.

mommmas 2

Just the other week, my mom also asked how I did it all.  I told her the same thing – “I don’t.”  If it’s not on my list, I don’t do it.

Ever since I’ve cleared out my schedule more, there’s lots more time for laughing and fun.  I’ll end up having a free afternoon or evening to go on a date night with my sweetie, to go out for ice cream with the family, or to spend the day with an old friend.

mommas 2

mommas 3

Just because we become adults doesn’t mean that the fun should end!  🙂  I always try to schedule at least two things a week that make me smile, or that I look forward to.  Don’t just live your life going through the motions – ex: eat, work, make dinner, clean the house, put the kids to bed, and pass out in bed yourself…

Figure out a way to live a life that allows you to explore your passions and be happy.  You only have one life to live, and God wants us to enjoy our lives – He created the world so that we could enjoy it!  : )  Today, figure out a way to bring some joy and fun back into your life.

Blessings,

Lauren

day 1

Lauren is a wife, mother, Jesus-lover, the owner of a Spanish Immersion Christian preschool, and the owner of Lauren’s Lathers, an organic beauty company, (making her own home-made Soaps, Scrubs, Shea Butters, and more!)  She loves Zumba, Pilates, the beach, chocolate, berry smoothies, travel, and spending time with her friends, family and children.  Her life’s mission is to be happy, to help others, and to spread God’s love, as well as to be an Author, Motivational speaker, Consultant and Coach – her first book will be available soon!

I would love to hear what's on your heart! Please play nice, as comments which are negative or abuse in nature will be removed. This is a place to uplift and encourage, so join in if you'd like! :). Blessings!

